Rava Dose

Day 27 of Recipe Marathon #2

This recipe is a small twist on one of our favorite breakfast/tiffin dish. Along with regular sooji/suji/rava/rave/semolina and rice flour, I have also added wheat germ to make the breakfast item more nutritious.

dosa1

Ingredients:

  • Rice flour -1 cup
  • Semolina/rava – 1/2 cup ( use the very fine kind here, know as chiroti rava in Kannada)
  • Wheat germ – 1/4 cup
  • Chopped or grated veggies- carrot and cilantro leaves
  • Cumin seeds – 1tsp
  • Water about 3-4 cups

* Can also add green chillies for more spice, grated zucchini and onions can also be used here.

 dosa-1

  1. Mix all the above ingredients with salt and water to smooth batter( Batter should be thin, once poured over the hot griddle/tava it should from like lace) .
  2. Heat griddle on medium high heat, when hot pour the batter around little by little to from a circle .
  3. Let it roast for 2-3 mins on side, when sides starts to leave, flip/turn and cook the other side for a minute.
  4. Fold into semi-circle and serve with favorite side dish.

Simple, easy and healthy breakfast ready in minutes. Enjoy !

Check out recipes of my fellow Marathoners.

DK , Srivalli, Ranji, PJ, CurryLeaf, Medha, Priya, Bhawna, Raaji, Anu, Kamala, Roopa, Divya Kudua, Rekha, Divya M, Lakshmi, Raaga, Lakshmi Venkatesh, Sripriya, Viji, Kamalika, Pavani, Karuna, Roochi
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

11 Responses to “Rava Dose”

  1. Lakshmi Says:

    Rave dose is our favorite breakfast Madhu. I simply adore these lacy thin crepes dunk in chutney with some hot coffee to go with them 🙂 That rave dose in the plate is soo tempting 🙂

  2. divya mubarak Says:

    rawa dosa is tempting and looks gr8….wonderful pic

  3. sushma Says:

    what do mean by “wheat germ” never came across this term . rava dosa is my fav too 🙂

  4. shilpa k Says:

    Looks Delicious and dint know its soo simple to prepare.

  5. RedChillies Says:

    Good idea of adding wheatgerm. Looks all crispy and yumm. I usually add wheat flour/AP to my rave dosa batter.

  6. Priya Says:

    Crispy dosa makes me hungry…yummy..

  7. Sweatha Says:

    Temting and my fav.I too add veggies to this.Lovely

  8. Heartburn Home Remedy Says:

    This topic is quite hot in the net right now. What do you pay attention to while choosing what to write about?

  9. Witold Says:

    Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thanks Nonetheless I am experiencing subject with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting similar rss drawback? Anyone who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

  10. Magda Says:

    naturally like your web-site but you need to check the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I find it very troublesome to tell the truth nevertheless I will definitely come back again.

  11. Anita Says:

    An impressive share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing a bit evaluation on this. And he in reality purchased me breakfast as a result of I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love reading extra on this topic. If possible, as you develop into experience, would you thoughts updating your blog with extra particulars? It is highly helpful for me. Large thumb up for this blog submit!


Leave a comment