Potato-Broccoli Cutlets

cutlet-2.jpg 

When it comes to cooking with potatoes,I make two dishes mostly. One being Potato/aloo palya and another one is cutlets. Along with potatoes I also use broccoli for cutlets, infact this is the only dish I use broccoli in , everyone in my house like eating broccoli this way.

This makes for a very satifying snack or same can be used with buns for making burgers for a meal. For the recipe I used red skined potatoes, used whole potoes along with the skin for making cutlets.

So here are the ingredinets I used

  1. Red skin Potatoes- 4 nos
  2. Broccoli – about 5 florets
  3. Roasted red bell peppers- 3 tbsp spoon ( Iused store brought)
  4. Onion- 1 meduim
  5. Spices: Garam masala and Red chilli powder- 1 tsp each
  6. Bread crumbs – 1 cup (take two slice of bread and run it in mixie untill it from like crumbs).
  • For garnish- Tomato ketchup, mint chutney, few cilantro leaves and lime juice 1 tbsp.

cutlet-1.jpg Photobucket

  1. Wash potatoes and cook them in boiling water till tender. Chop onion, bell pepper and broccoli to bit size pieces.
  2. Heat 1 tbsp of oil in a pan, add veggies cover and cook till soft. Now add cooked and cooled potatoes either chop them or crumble them.( I have left the skin on so I have choped them).
  3. Add spices and salt mix well , then add bread crumbs about 1/2 cup of so the veggie mixture all comes together to form a stiff ball.
  4. Once cool down to handle makes ball shape and flatten with palm of your hand. Roll  the patties in remaining bread crumbs.
  5. Heat tava/griddle on medium heat. Add little oil and put pattie on that and leave for 3-4 minutes till the side is golden brown , filp and let the other side roast as well.
  6. Squeese lime juice and serve with chutney and sauces. Garnish with cilantro leaves

*Along with bread crumbs, rice flour can be added to make the veg mixture stiff and crispy. Patties can be deep fried instead of roasting on tava.

Enjoy!

I am sending this as my entry to Ode to Potatoes  hosted by Sia of Monsoon Spice and

Potato Fe(a)st hosted by DK of Culinary Bazzar

Internet

19 Responses to “Potato-Broccoli Cutlets”

  1. Kalai Says:

    These look really great and they’re not deep fried! Love it. Great as a side or starter. 🙂

  2. Uma Says:

    wow, the cutlets look so yummy. Nice step by step instructions too. Very good entry.

  3. RedChillies Says:

    The first picture looks lovely Madhu especially with touch of ketchup. I like your idea of using breadcrumbs. I use soaked bread and it does not become crispy.

    Soaked bread, new way of making cutlets. Deep frying may make it crispy. Thanks RC.

  4. coffee Says:

    Ahh! Thats one clever way of eating brocoli….. nice combination. 🙂

  5. Mythreyee Says:

    That’s one tasty recipe.

  6. Lakshmi Says:

    Broccoli in cutlets..ummm..now I must try this! Looks yummo!

  7. TBC Says:

    Nice! That’s a good way to sneak in some broccoli. 🙂

  8. spicescorner Says:

    i second coffee… i love both the veggies but i bet when paired they would have tasted much more better 🙂 thank you madhu for this delicious entry

  9. sia Says:

    oh, it was me… i forgot to logout from my wordpress account 🙂

  10. Asha Says:

    We love Broccoli, even my kids love them!:D
    Cutlets look yummy Madhu, great entry!:)

  11. Mona Says:

    Wow! This is my first time to your blog, and i’m loving it, you have a great collection of recipes here, all looking very mouthwaring 🙂 I have added you to my blogroll. Thanks for dropping by.

    Welcome Mona, thanks for the nice words. You too have a very nice blog.

  12. Dhivya Says:

    Thats a v good and sneaky way of including broccoli and here I was trying out so many variation to make myself eat that veggie. This one seems a winner all the way! Thanks a heap for sending it to the event 🙂

    You might like broccoli this way, do try it. Its my pleasure, to send in entries.

  13. vanamala Says:

    Oh wow …. slurrrrrrrrrp!!!! snack !!

  14. richa Says:

    yummy cutlets, i enjoy the cutlets a lot, reminds me of those yummy cutlets we used to get during train journeys 🙂

  15. masalamagic Says:

    looks yummy madhu! never tried broccoli in cutlets – sounds really healthy too !

    Nice way to make kids eat.

  16. Vidya Says:

    This is a nice recipe it would taste great with a cup of hot coffee 🙂 , I will surely give it a try some time.
    I also found some interesting recipes at http://hungryzone.com , may be you all can visit it.

  17. lublinprzeprowadzki Says:

    I found your weblog web site on google and examine a few of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the very good operate. I simply extra up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. In search of ahead to reading more from you later on!…

  18. Klementyna Says:

    I’d need to check with you here. Which isn’t something I normally do! I get pleasure from reading a post that will make individuals think. Additionally, thanks for allowing me to remark!

  19. Kredyt_pod_zastaw_samochodu_Kraków Says:

    I think this website contains some rattling excellent information for everyone :D. “Believe those who are seeking the truth doubt those who find it.” by Andre Gide.


Leave a comment