Saasivekaayi with Zuchinni

 

I have previously bloged about saasivekaayi( saasive- mustard & kaayi- coconut, both grind together with some spices), where I used chayote squash. For this months Think spice event I was planning to make the same with different veggie and I ran out of mustard. So when we went to Las vegas did lots of Indian grocery shopping and got mustard seeds. So here is the recipe for it.

My entry for Sunitha’s Think Spice- Mustard.

Ingredints:

  • Zucchini, tomato and onion- 1 each cut into bite size peices( any kind of squash, okra and pumpink will be good for this recipe).

For Grinding :

  • Coconut- 3 tbsp
  • Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
  • Cumin seeds – 1tsp
  • Dried red chillies- 2 for medium heat
  • Turmeric- 1 tsp
  • Jaggery and tamarind- 1tsp each ( this is optional, I have added a little)

For seasoning:

  • Oil- 1tbsp
  • Mustard seeds – 1tsp.

  1. Keep the pan on medium heat , add oil and mustrad seeds when they begin to crackel add all the veggies saute untill soft.
  2. Grind all the ingredints mentioned to smooth paste.
  3. Add the ground paste to the soften veggies add enough water, salt to taste and simmer it down for 10- 15 mins.
  4. It will be ready by this time.
  5. We had it with Akki rotti, followed the recipe from Latha’s Yum blog.

Enjoy !

22 Responses to “Saasivekaayi with Zuchinni”

  1. Asha Says:

    Madhu, I will try this Sasive kai masale, you told me once to try with Kumbalkai.Looks yummy! Great entry. I will save the recipe!:))

    Let me know when you try it Asha.

  2. Suganya Says:

    The first photo is very pretty. Gravy looks gorgeous. Bokmarked!

    Thanks Suganya, Do try and let me know how you liked it.

  3. Padma Says:

    Looks fabulous and nice gravy recipe with mustard, tx for sharing

    Do try it sometimes Padma, tastes delicious too.

  4. Sheela Says:

    Hi Madhu, thanks for stopping by… I love you site! Love the photos and the color scheme… you have some creative recipes here – just my style 😉 your saasivekaayi blend reminds me of a “koottu” blend my mom used to make, really yummy recipes here – how did I miss it all this while?!

    Welcome Sheela, thanks for the nice words. Its similar to the kootu recipe, but mustard flavour is very bold here. Do try it and let me know.

  5. sunita Says:

    That’s a really nice recipe…glad that it’s going to grace my blog as well.

    I am glad that I could post the recipe in time and always a pleasure to take part in an event.

  6. Richa Says:

    that bowl full of veg is so very tempting 🙂
    lovely recipe.

    Thanks Richa, do try it some times.

  7. Dee Says:

    Madhu, I love the colours of this dish and amongst spices Im partial to mustard seeds. I love the pic and it looks so healthy!!

    The taste is very differnt mustard seeds added to seasoning and grounded for masala, do try it you’ll like it. Thanks for stoping by.

  8. jeena Says:

    What a lovely recipe I looks absoloutley gorgeous! 🙂

    Thanks Jeena.

  9. Roopa (Kitchenaromas) Says:

    Kaai Sasive is a deadly combination! It seems like zuchinni grows even on plastic trees this time of the year! Will try this, thanks Madhu!

    Winter is almost here in alaska, zuchinni is the one veggie I can find year round here so….. do try it Roopa.

  10. RedChillies Says:

    Looks beautiful and yummy Madhu! Very strange that I have not heard of Saasevekai. Do you have to toast the saaseve or use it raw?

    You must have heard ‘kaai sassive’ they make rice with that. It the same ingredients name reversed to saasive kaayi. Do try it RC.

  11. Jyothi Says:

    recipe looks yum…never heard about this recipe but looks great. Thanks for sharing.

    Thanks Jyothi, if you like mustard you sure will like this recipe.

  12. viji Says:

    Madhu a great dish and the photo is impressive. Viji

  13. Happy cook Says:

    A wonderfull dish that too with Zuchini

  14. Tee Says:

    The gravy looks delicious…I guess we can add any veggie in this gravy. Will try this out.

  15. Namratha Says:

    Hey this is a refreshing recipe..very new to me

    I bet you have heard about ‘kaaayi saasive’ it the same thing name reversed for veggie dishes. Do try it sometimes.

  16. Sunita’s World | ‘Think mustard seeds’ round up and announcing the spice for October… Says:

    […] saasivekayi with zucchini/zucchini cooked in a spicy mustard-coconut paste looks very tempting indeed … I’d love to have it as a side with some rice. […]

  17. warszawaprzeprowadzki Says:

    Thanks so much for providing individuals with an extraordinarily nice possiblity to read in detail from this site. It’s always very pleasing and stuffed with a great time for me personally and my office peers to search your web site no less than three times in a week to read the new secrets you have. Of course, I’m also usually fascinated for the tremendous guidelines you give. Certain 4 ideas in this posting are definitely the most effective I’ve ever had.

  18. Anzelm Says:

    I’d need to examine with you here. Which isn’t something I normally do! I take pleasure in reading a post that can make individuals think. Additionally, thanks for allowing me to remark!

  19. Elzbieta Says:

    I precisely had to thank you very much yet again. I am not sure the things that I would have taken care of without the actual tactics contributed by you directly on this subject. Certainly was a very distressing condition in my circumstances, however , being able to see the well-written tactic you resolved it forced me to jump for delight. I’m just happier for the work and thus expect you know what a great job you are carrying out instructing the mediocre ones with the aid of a web site. More than likely you’ve never got to know all of us.

  20. Diana Says:

    Thank you so much for providing individuals with a very marvellous chance to read critical reviews from this site. It can be so excellent and jam-packed with a good time for me and my office colleagues to search your site at least three times in a week to read the fresh guides you will have. Not to mention, I am also usually contented with all the exceptional ideas you give. Certain 1 areas in this posting are clearly the best I’ve ever had.

  21. Tekla Says:

    Hi my family member! I wish to say that this post is awesome, great written and come with almost all important infos. I’d like to see extra posts like this .

  22. Kredyt_pod_zastaw_samochodu Says:

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one these days


Leave a comment