Tomato rasam/ Tomato Thili Saaru

Hello all,

 I am back from our trip to vegas and Grand canyon. It was very nice trip, my little one enjoyed it very much. We had a chanced to go to west side of the grand canyon where there is the new ‘sky-walk bride’. It was so exciting to walk on that and same time scary to look down.  Well, had a nice break and back to blogging again.

For our everyday lunch, I usually make rice dishes, most of the days it rice and sambar/saaru, with  veggies playa. Some day is one-pot rice dishes. But Rice and rasam is our favorite meal all the time. I make this atleast one a week. Would like to send this to Asha’s RCI- Kanataka.

In Kannada rasam is also know as Thili saaru. Thili meaning like water. This rasam is made with just tomatos no dal is added and freshly roasted cumin-black pepper powder give nice taste and aroma to it. This is how my mom makes and most home in Mysore region make it the same way just with tomatoes. 

Ingredients

  • Tomatoes- 2 big ones
  • Spices- rasam powder- 1 tbsp, cumin-black pepper powder 2 tsp, turmeric- 1/2 tsp.
  • Others-  Jaggery 2 tbsp and tamarind juice (this is optional)

For seasoning:

  • Oil- 1tsp
  • Mustard seeds, red chilli ,few curry leaves and hing a small pinch.

Garnish

  • Corriender/cilantro leaves
  • 1Tbsp of coconut.( I was out of it so havent’t added)

Here is the recipe for Rasam

  1. Pressure cook the tomatoes, remove the skin,mash and extract the juice of it by squeesing the tomatoes and discard the tough pulp. (Make sure tomatoes are cool enough to handle)
  2. Dry roast 1 tsp of each cumin and black pepper for few minutes and crush it. (Freshely made tastes good).
  3. Combine all the ingredints and bring it to high boil add jaggery and tamarind extract and salt to taste. Let it all cook together for 10-12 mins.
  4. Then switch off and do the seasoning with oil, mustard seeds, hing, curry leaves and one red chilli.
  5. Lastely garnish with cilantro leaves.

Enjoy with plain white rice of tastes good with puliyogare and with cumin and black pepper added to the rasam, pour hot rasam to a small steel-coffee cup and just take sip after sip after sip, this is the way I enjoy rasam.

21 Responses to “Tomato rasam/ Tomato Thili Saaru”

  1. Asha Says:

    Good to see you back Madhu! When we went to Grand Canyon, they didn’t have that walkway yet. Lucky, you got to walk on that!! I saw on TV, it does look scary and expensive too!! Glad you enjoyed it!:))
    Lovely Thili Saaru, I drink it in a cup!:D
    Thank you for taking time Madhu, I appreciate it.

    Best way enjoy thili saaru is drink it up, I do it same way. Its my pleasure Asha, wish I had more time to send you some more recipes. Can’t wait for the round-up.

  2. pooja v Says:

    Wow …Lovely looking entree…Simpel , neat and delicious.

  3. Roopa (Kitchenaromas) Says:

    Ah, comfort food! I make it the same way, but temper with ghee🙂

  4. Suganya Says:

    With a grind of fresh pepper, thats one tasty bowl of hot soup!

  5. TBC Says:

    I loooove rasam . I don’t add jaggery in mine. Will try it your way next time.

    Where ever we use tamarind we use jaggery with that, it enhances and balance the tangyness of tamarind.

  6. Aparna Says:

    HI there,

    I am a regular visitor on your blog, you have a nice one going here… I am from Mysore too. Reading your blog brings back memories of my mom’s cooking.

    Best
    Aparna

    Thanks for stoping by Aparna, Nice to know one more mysore girl. Glad to share the same memories of food.

  7. Praveen Says:

    Hey Madhu,
    Typical mysooru tili saaru, liked the recipe , this is just the way my mom cooks back in Bengaluru…I feel this style of making rasam is more delicious to kannadigas then Andhra Style…I find many blogs on kannadiga dishes over internet..which is really great…you guys are doing a great lot to document and preserve Kannadiga recipes🙂

    Welcome to my blog Praveen, and you are right this is typical to mysore and bangalore region. Its really a pleasure to document and share the recipes we grew up eating. Hope you’ll try some recipes too. Thanks

  8. sameera Says:

    Hello, Please see the link below. I think she stole ur recipe word to word. No credits are given. Infact all the recipes on her website are stolen from others.

    http://iaminhungry.blogspot.com/2007/10/tomato-rasam.html

    Hey thanks for the info, I did check and left a comment there.

  9. Raghu Says:

    Hello Madhu,

    Not sure how I ended up in your site but I am glad I did. So many of these recipes remind me of my Mom’s food. She also mentioned about adding Jaggery to any dish where you use tamarind or lemon. BTW, is brown sugar an okay substitute?

    Thanks for posting all these recipes

    Welcome Raghu,
    We too use Jaggery where ever tamarind is used. Dark brown sugar is next best thing if you don’t have jaggery so go ahead use it. Thanks for stoping by.

  10. lakxmi Says:

    Hi Madhu,
    I;m so excited to your site. I wonder howcome I didnt find it b4. You are doing a great job.I love rasam .When I make I usually dont put jeera and tamarind. Never mind I’m definitely gonna try your recipe and get back to you.I’m sure its going to be delicious.

  11. Kannada movies, videos Says:

    What happened to togari bele in tili saaru? would you not add bele to tili saaru?

    There are so many recipes for thilisaru/rasam. So this is ‘no bele’ recipe.. just plain tomato thili saru. Thanks for your time.

    Shiva

  12. Raks Says:

    Thanks so much for these recipes…. i used to hate cooking…. u have made it easy n interesting….:)

  13. niree Says:

    awsome sambar……very tasty to have with white rice!!!!!!!!!

  14. Vinod Says:

    Thanks for the receipe. I have searched all sites for this perfect rasam with no dal. This seems perfect as the one which they serve in south canara temples. This is realy a Satvik food and I like it. I will try this at home and take hot sip by sip during rainy wet evenings. Thanks again.

  15. Dr sunitha Jain Says:

    I loove these rasam….have been doing these…guess

  16. shiya Says:

    hey,
    I lved it , it was so tasty n aromatic

  17. sgb Says:

    at the end season with ghee its even better 1) season mustard ghee 2) season ghee+jeera+curry leaves 3)ghe+jeera+ppper powder all gives diiferent taste

  18. Eugenia Says:

    I not to mention my buddies were looking through the great secrets and techniques found on the website and suddenly came up with an awful feeling I had not thanked the web site owner for those secrets. The women appeared to be absolutely passionate to read them and already have surely been making the most of those things. Many thanks for being quite thoughtful and also for pick out these kinds of fantastic issues most people are really eager to know about. My sincere regret for not expressing gratitude to sooner.

  19. Anatol Says:

    But a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding design and style. “The price one pays for pursuing a profession, or calling, is an intimate knowledge of its ugly side.” by James Arthur Baldwin.

  20. Vijayashree Harsha Says:

    lovely receipe….my mom does exactly…..


Leave a Reply

