Saasive Kaayi (Chayote squash curry)

cs-done.jpg  

Saasive Kaayi its my mom’s recipe. She used to make this when she has not planned  anything to do for dinner, and it takes very less time to prepare. One can call it as a curry in a hurry.

 It translates saasive(mustard) Kaayi(coconut). Simply speaking mustard and coconut made into smooth paste and add it to the veggie. One can make this curry with any kind of squash they like. Back home Chayote squash is widely availble all seasons long. After coming to US is was so happy to see this kind of squash at local gorcery store. This curry is one thing I do with it.

                                       What we need for this

   Chayote squash            1      (cut into bit size peices)    

         For Grinding                                   

   Mustard         1 tsp                            Tumeric 1/2 tsp

   Cumin/Jeera  1tsp                             Tamarind paste 1/2 tsp

   Coconut         2tbsp (Fresh or Dry)    Dried red chillies 2          

   Salt             for taste                         Gram Flour/besan  1tsp

(Gram flour is optional, I use less coconut so adding Gram flour to the gravy gives very nice consistancy)

                                      For Tadka

    Oil  2 tsp, mustard 1/2 tsp, cumin 1/2 tsp.      

     

cs-ingredients.jpg

 

 

How to make it

  1. Keep a pan on medium heat and do the tadka by adding mustard, cumin andto oil .

  2. Now add peeled and cubed squash and add little salt mix and cook for 5minutes untill its half done.

  3. Mean while gring the coconut, mustard, cumin, chilles,gram flour, tamarind paste with  little water to make it like a paste(You can soak tamarind in water and use tamarind water for grinding).

  4. After 5 mins or untill the squash is half done add the grind mixture, salt and more water  to the make it bit thin(Adding gram flour will thicken the gravy ).

  5. Cover and simmer it down for 5 more mins. Switch off. It is ready to be served.

It goes well with chapathi.     Enjoy !

cs-cha.jpg

14 Responses to “Saasive Kaayi (Chayote squash curry)”

  1. Archana Says:

    Nice photos, i make a curry very similar to this using zucchini.

    Thanks , will try using zucchini next time.

  2. Krithika Says:

    I like this recipe. We make something similar but add moong dal.

    That sounds like nice combo, have to try it. Thanks Krithika.

  3. sudha vinodh Says:

    thats a very lovely post ruchi.

  4. Vaishali Says:

    Great recipe for trying out Chayote for the first time. Thanks for introducing this new veggie to me.

    You are welcome and let me know, how u liked it.

  5. Shynee Says:

    Brilliant snaps…I have seen my MIL making this recipe and it just taste amazing…thanx for sharing it…

  6. Sugar And Spice » Beans Curry & Cooking From Blogs Says:

    […] Day 2 – Lunch was Ruchi’s Chayote Squash Curry and chapathi’s, i literally licked the plate clean   Had Sailu’s Masala Kichdi with papad for dinner – delicious and easy to cook.  […]

  7. Krithika Says:

    I made this last night for dinner. It was delicious. My husband loved it too. With Rotis it tastes great. Will post the pic soon

    Thanks for letting me know Krithika. I am very happy to know you and your family liked it. Will be checking your blog for the Pics.

  8. Joyce McCall Says:

    I had not tried the squash yet. I was looking for a receipe, so once I try it i’ll let you know what I thought about it.

    Thank You

  9. Sugar and Spices » Blog Archive » Beans Curry & Cooking From Blogs Says:

    […] Day 2 – Lunch was Ruchi’s Chayote Squash Curry and chapathi’s, literally licked the plate clean   Then made Sailu’s Masala Kichdi with papad for dinner – delicious and easy to cook.  […]

  10. Raju Says:

    Thanks for the receipe. I prepared it just now. Turned out to be tasty. If I can follow this and cook, then anybody can cook this. I am very proud of you.

  11. Pravs Says:

    Tried this curry today… easy to make and tasty. First time trying out chayote squash. Thanks.

    I am so glad you tried it and tasted good.Thanks for letting me know.

  12. Emil Says:

    Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thanks Nonetheless I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting an identical rss drawback? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

  13. Ignacy Says:

    I precisely had to appreciate you again. I’m not certain what I would have achieved without these aspects documented by you regarding my field. It was an absolute fearsome condition in my opinion, but looking at your specialized technique you treated the issue made me to weep over happiness. Now i’m thankful for this guidance and in addition trust you really know what an amazing job that you are providing instructing most people all through your webpage. I am certain you have never got to know any of us.

  14. Lax Says:

    Thanks for this recipe Madhu. Ive made this couple of times and my husband has fallen in love with this vegetable…all bcoz of this dish!! Made this again for dinner tonight with chapathis.


Leave a Reply

