Aloogedde Pachadi/Potato Raita

aloo-pachadi.jpg

When ever I make one-pot rice dish I make pachadi/raita to go with it.  I had cooked potatoes which was in fridge for last two days, so today for our lunch I used that for making pachadi/raita.

One can add veggies like tomatoes, cucumber, green chillies, grated carrot along with this.  During festival, back home when we donot cook with onions, potato is used to make raithas. I just wanted to keep it simple so just added potaotes(cooked) and onions with little cilantro leaves. This is very simple recipe to make along any rice dishes.

Here is what I used

  • 1 cup – home made yogurt
  • 1 potato- skin removed and choped( can also crumble)
  • 2 tsp – red onion and cilantro finely chopped

Spices-red chilli powder, black pepper powder, turmeric and salt to taste.

Tempering-1 tsp of oil, mustard seeds, red chilli and hing.

aloo-ing.jpg

  1. Cook potato in boiling water untill tender. Once cooled chop/ crumble.
  2. Sprinkle with salt, chilli powder, turmeric and black pepper.
  3. Mix pototes with yogurt add chopped onion and cilantro. Mix well.
  4. Do the tempering and pour over yogurt mixture.

We had this with rice usli. Enjoy!

aloo-rice.jpg

Will send this to Sia for Ode to Potatoes and Dk’s for Potato Fe(a)st Events.

17 Responses to “Aloogedde Pachadi/Potato Raita”

  1. Kalai Says:

    Nice raita! Am always on the lookout for different recipes. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    This is bit different than regular raitha, do try it.

  2. Mythreyee Says:

    Raitha with potatoes. wow! Looks wonderful.

    Thanks Mythreyee, tastes bit different with potatoes.

  3. easycrafts Says:

    Never tried potatoes in raitha, thanks for the idea

  4. sagari Says:

    Havent tried raita with potatoes, looks yummy

  5. sra Says:

    That looks really tasty, with the red chillies! I’m tempted to try it now!

  6. sreelu Says:

    hey I have really got to try this, never heard of aloo raita

  7. Padma Says:

    I used to hate eating this raita as a kid, but after I started cooking and playing with flavours I like it now and its so smooth and silky with potatoes. Tx for visiting my blog

  8. Asha Says:

    Adding spice to aloo before is new and looks and sounds yummy! Good one Madhu. Hope weather is getting better there, we have 32F today and Y’day it was 60F! Weird weather these days!:)

    For us summer starts at May, we are still in negative temps. I add spices before so potato won’t be very bland.

  9. vanamala Says:

    hey same dish i did yday …but the picture didnt come out 😦 well.

    you method is very nice adding spices to the pachadi. Will try to make this.

    Do post it some other time. Would like to know your recipe 🙂

  10. Suma Gandlur Says:

    Madhu,
    Looks refreshing.
    I have a question regarding the cornmeal idlis. I tried them long ago twice and gave up. They were all crumbly when done and did not come out in good shape. Has this happened to you any time?

    No suma, it has never crumble when I make. I think you should add more yogurt and thin it a little, before adding them to idly plates. Check my rava idly post for consistancy of idly batter, hope this helps Suma. https://ruchii.wordpress.com/2007/08/29/rave-idly-kadalebele-chutney/

  11. Aparna Says:

    That’s lovely. I know the potato is a very versatile vegetable but nevr thought of a potato pachadi.
    Thanks for visiting my blog. Appreciate it.

  12. Dhivya Says:

    My God! This ‘yet untried’ Potato Raita is calling me from all quarters. That last pic is a recipe book material. so droolworthy. Thanks for sending them my way Madhu 🙂

  13. Ramki Says:

    Hi Ruchii,
    Have blogged your Raita as a model recipe in the One page cookbook at http://ramkicooks.blogspot.com/

    /Thanks for the recipe

  14. Swaroop Says:

    Ruchii… try it without using anything other than curd, baked/mashed potatoes, amchur and chat powder with salt to taste. It is my favorite version of this dish 🙂

  15. Daniel Says:

    Hello.This post was really interesting, particularly because I was searching for thoughts on this topic last Saturday.

  16. Apolonia Says:

    Simply want to say your article is as amazing. The clearness on your publish is just excellent and i could think you’re an expert in this subject. Well along with your permission let me to grasp your feed to stay updated with coming near near post. Thanks one million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  17. Pożyczka_pod_zastaw_samochodu_Kraków Says:

    Merely a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding design. “Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not one bit simpler.” by Albert Einstein.


Leave a comment