Olive Chutney

oc-m.jpg

I brought a can of olives and sun-dried tomatoes long ago to use them as a topping, that is when I make pizza at home. But that day never came, so I wanted to try something new using olives. The first thing came to my mind was ‘how about chutney? ‘ so I decided to give it a try. I used Olives, sun-dried tomato and chili(can’t make any chutney without chili). Never tasted this combination before so i was curious as well as anxious to know how it will turn out. To my surprise it was a fabulous combination of little sweet,tangy and spicy.

I think it goes well as a spread on toast or can use as a base for sanwich with little cheese on top or can also use this as a spread on pizza dough(which i’ll be trying very soon).

So here is how I made it.

Ingredients

oc-i.jpg

Olives  I used one hand full (Pitted olives)

Sun-dried Tomatoes  3 (which was in oilve oil)

Green Chilli   1 small

Salt According to taste.

Method.

Put everthing in a blender and grind into course paste.

Moisture from canned olives and sun-dried tomatoes soaked in oilve oil, helps to grind into paste.

I used this chutney as a spread on a bread toast. It tasted very well. Enjoy! 

oc-b.jpg

14 Responses to “Olive Chutney”

  1. Priya Says:

    WOW…I like the idea too…I just love olives but the only dishes I find them in is pizzas and in Subway sandwiches. At home I add it to pastas, will try the chutney next time 🙂 

    Priya if you love olives you’ll definetly love this chutney too. Let me know if you give it a try.

  2. shilpa Says:

    Thats a nice idea. My hubby loves olives, so I am gonna try this chutney.

    Thanks Shilpa and let me know.

  3. Krithika Says:

    Ruchi, this is a great idea. I think this is how Italians make Tapenade that can be spread on Panini and Muffaleta.

    Thanks Krithika, after you mentioned I searched web and as u said tapanade is made this way, i never knew that before. BTW can i ask you what is Muffaleta ?

  4. vineela Says:

    Hi Ruchi,
    Nice idea to do chutney.
    Vineela

    Thanks Vineela. Tastes good too.

  5. Archana Says:

    This is a superb idea, i am thoroughly impressed, never even thought about it before. I somehow gets an inkling that we can toss some penne with this chutney and create a totally unique dish. Fantastico !!!

    Thanks Archana, there are endless way we can use this chutney. That’s a nice one tossing with penne. If you are creating any masterpeice with this kind let me know..:)

  6. ArSu Says:

    Yes .. even i’ve a can of olives and sun-dried tomatoes sleeping in my pantry..thnx for a innovative recipe 🙂

    Hey Arsu,  Wake them up….:) and let me know how u liked it. Thanks

  7. Surya Says:

    Great idea!!in ‘must try list’.Thanks for sharing

    Thanks Surya for stoping by and try it.

  8. Krithika Says:

    Ruchi, Muffaleta is like a layered sandwich that is baked or grilled. I think this is a New Orleans speciality.

    Thanks Krithika for letting me know. I really appreciate it.

  9. sudha Says:

    Olive chutney?? Nice experiment. I think you had fun trying and inventing new recipe. well done. Even i like your colorful gojju , should try it out soon.

    It was indeed a tasteful experiment Sudha, let me know if you give it a try. Thanks.

  10. nandita Says:

    Wow Madhu, this is a perfect idea for fusion food- like an Indian tapenade-
    Will surely want to try this!

    Yes Nandita, Indianised tapenade. Let me know if u give it a try. Thanks.

  11. mohua Says:

    quite inovative…and sounds nice….my daughter doesnt like olives…but i guess if this combinaiton is added to a pasta..or salad..she wont know…!! now..thats how moms are!!!

  12. sam Says:

    i am now wondering if olives would make a tasty pickle with chillies,fennel ,mustard seeds….etc .so inspired by your idea i am going to substitute green olives for green mango in a green mango pickle recipe….: )

    That sounds like a great idea,pickling oilves. With mangoes it will more delicious. Do let me know if you pickle it.

  13. Josh Says:

    This doesn’t fulfil the requirements for a chutney. It’s more akin to tapenade.

  14. Patryk Says:

    Today, taking into consideration the fast life-style that everyone is having, credit cards get this amazing demand throughout the economy. Persons from every area of life are using credit card and people who not using the credit card have prepared to apply for 1. Thanks for revealing your ideas in credit cards.


Leave a comment