Eggplant Pizza

  eggplant-pizza.jpg

I had made pizza over the weekend using eggplant as topping. I had tried this pizza in one of the resturant couple of years ago and really loved it.  So this will be my entry for this months JFI-Eggplant hosted by Sangeetha of Ghar Ka khana.

Making Pizza dough

  • Wheat flour- 1 cup
  • All purpose flour- 1cup
  • Yeast- 1tbsp (disslove in warm water)            
  • Salt and sugar to taste.

Vegetables and spices

  • Red onion, tomatos – 1 small.
  • Eggplant- I used about half of the big eggplant sliced into bit size peices.
  • Salt,Pepper, redchilli,powder and olive oil

Method

  1. Combine the flours and add yeast dissloved in warm water to the flour, add sugar and salt. 
  2. Mix well using anough water to form stiff dough.  Cover and keep it for 1 hour or untill it doubles it size.
  3. Pre heat the oven 400 F, when dough is ready hand press it to form like circle shape, bake it for 10 mins.
  4. Now add tomato paste or tomato sauce  spread it around and add onion, tomato and eggplant(mixed with salt,pepper,olive oil and red chilli powder)
  5. Continue to bake for another 10 min or less untill the veggies are cooked, I added shredded cheese last minute and left it for 1 min.
  6. Eggplant pizza is ready. Enjoy.

* I baked just the pizza dough as such before adding toppings, to make the crust crispier.                                                    

I’ll be on a short break, will see you all soon. Happy Blogging……

16 Responses to “Eggplant Pizza”

  1. Raaga Says:

    Hmmm… I had an eggplant pizza just 2 days ago 🙂 Easy recipe 🙂
    Hi Raaga, how did you like it……I love this topping, try it ita easy and tasts delicious too…

  2. viji Says:

    This looks yummy ruchi. Viji
    Thanks Viji…

  3. trupti Says:

    Oh wow….I might just try this, it looks so tempting!
    🙂
    If you are an eggplant fan you surely love it, try it….

  4. Asha Says:

    Very creative Madhu.Looks delicious.I will try when I come back home:))
    Do try it asha, something different then usual toppings. Enjoy your vacation……..

  5. Roopa Says:

    Hi Madhu,
    Good to see you back. The pizza looks delicious and what a great entry for JFI!

  6. Dee Says:

    Madhu, wow thats a nice recipe. I just got some pizza dough from trader joe’s which everyone rating excellent. I need to try that!Thanks for the recipe!

  7. seema Says:

    Oh I love baingan raja very much and love anything out of it. How didn’t the idea of using it in pizza strike me? Lovely presentation gal. Looks delicious.

  8. Richa Says:

    hey, that looks tempting, and something different for the topping, good one 🙂

  9. roopa Says:

    wow what an unique idea! great entry for JFI. looks delicious.

  10. Priya Says:

    Hi Madhu,

    Are you still in Alaska? Post some pics of ur place on this blog…
    have u seen wild polar bears there coz i read somwhere that in barrow polar bears are in good number

  11. Clumsy Says:

    I love the idea of eggplant pizza—I will have to try this one. Thanks!

  12. mamatha Says:

    Hi madhu,
    Eggplant pizza looks yummy,
    By the way tdy i saw your ragi mudde photo in thatskannada.com, Here is the link
    http://thatskannada.oneindia.in/column/vichitranna/140807deadly-combination-idly-combination.html

  13. TBC Says:

    Eggplant pizza looks good.I might even try it(I am not very fond of eggplant)
    Let me know TBC, if using on pizza along with eggplant you can add other veggies like oilves and sun dried tomatoes and less eggplant. It will be yummy.

  14. roopa Says:

    wow this is one crowd pleaser you have got:) i will surely try and let you know:) Thanks for the recipe:)

  15. przeprowadzkowiec Says:

    An fascinating dialogue is price comment. I feel that you must write extra on this topic, it might not be a taboo topic but typically individuals are not enough to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  16. Daniel Says:

    Howdy! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you will have here on this post. I shall be coming again to your blog for extra soon.


Leave a comment