Masoor Dal with Goda Masala

masoor-dal.jpg 

I have been cooking with Masoor dal for last 2-3 years, first introduced by one of our maharastrian friend.  When we visited them they made this for dinner and me and my husband loved it and later I borrowed ‘goad masala’ from her and strated cooking. After that I knew goad masala was maharastrain speciality and used for making dals.  After it was over, I used to make masoor dal with  garam masala and red chilli powder.

For this months RCI – Maharashtrian Cuisine hosted by Nupur of ‘One hot Stove’ I decided to make Goda masala which is very authentic  maharastrain spice mix used in most of the dal preparations. So followed ‘Tee of Bhaatkuli’s’ recipe and prepared fresh Goad masala. For my first try it turned out good. Thanks Tee for the recipe.

goda-masala.jpg   

Here is the recipe for Masoor Dal(Amti).

Ingredients

  • Masoor Dal – 1 cup
  • Vegeetables – Onion 1, Tomato 1, Garlic 2 pods and Tomato paste 2 tbsp.
  • Spices- Goda masala, red chilli powder 1-2 tbsp
  • Oil 2 tbsp and Salt to taste.

Method.

  1. Add 2 cups of water to  Masoor Dal  and pressure cook for 15 mins. (No need to soak ahead).
  2. Chop garlic , onion and tomato. Heat oil in pan and add veggie saute till soft and then add goad masala, red chilli powder and salt, adjust to taste.
  3. Then add cooked masoor dal add required amout of water and cook for 10 mins. All the flavours of masala and dal are cooked together.
  4. Serve with Chapathi with some slice of onion and lime.

Tasty and healthy meal enjoy!

17 Responses to “Masoor Dal with Goda Masala”

  1. Tee Says:

    Hey Ruchii,
    Your Goda Masala looks very authentic!! I am happy to share the recipe…the masoor dal looks very delicious! I make this regularly at my place and it definitely is a crowd pleaser.
    Thanks Tee, If marathi girl says its authentic, i feel like i accomplished….Its sure is a crowd pleaser ….I always do when I have guests.

  2. Roopa Says:

    omg… the masoor dhal thumba tasty agi kandtha ide. the picture looks inviting ……..
    Thanks roopa…. it tasted very good too…..

  3. Suganya Says:

    The picture of the goda masala is beautiful.. Clear white b/g with no distractions, except its beauty and texture.. Like it!
    Thanks Suganya……I give all the credit to the sun light, that pic turned out well.

  4. Coffee Says:

    This looks beautiful!!! I was not aware of this combination of masoor dal and goda masala at all!!🙂 Its a lovely entry.🙂
    Thanks Coffee, if you have tried this combination.. please do try it, its match made in kitchen heaven…

  5. Asha Says:

    I love Goda masala too.I have a simple Goda masala recipe for Misal.Dal looks delicious Madhu.
    Hope you enjoyed the longest day yesterday!:))
    Badankai recipes post madideeni,take a look when you have time at FH.
    Thanks Asha, some how I missed you post on eggplants will check it out..

  6. Richa Says:

    such a lovely color & texture, loved it! masoor sure makes such a hearty meal🙂 i also like to saute 1tbsp dry coconut with the onion!
    Never thought of adding coconut…..will it next time, thanks Richa.

  7. Aruna Says:

    Madhu, Yummy looking dal, bet it tasted heavenly…..
    It was absolutely delicious, fresh ground masalas makes all the difference when cooking…..Thanks Aruna.

  8. Nupur Says:

    So delicious, yet simple! I have to try this soon! The lemon and onion slices are a great touch.
    Its simple and I love to cook with this dal……Thanks Nupur.

  9. vanamala Says:

    Hi Ruchi
    Masoor dal looks v delicious.. i have to try this … yummy !!!!
    cheers
    Mala
    Welcome Mala, try it……thanks for stopping by.

  10. Dee Says:

    madhu, Masoor dal is a favourite at my place too.. thanks for the recipe!
    Thnaks Dee….

  11. TBC Says:

    That is such a beautiful pic of your lip-smacking masoor dal.It looks so tempting!

  12. anusharaji Says:

    i need to try that goda masala too
    looks awesome🙂
    Do try it I got the recipe from Tee maharastrain girl. Goda masala Tastes good with all kind of lentils.

  13. Sindhu Says:

    Hi Madhu, I accidently happened to see this recipe online and tried it at home..Must say its yummy..Loved it…Thanks a Lot🙂

  14. rupa Says:

    is it somthing like famous akha masoor ?

  15. Pramila Suresh Says:

    Hi Ruchi,
    The dal looks delicious. But tell me if u have used the pink, half masoor dal or the whole masoor dal. Thanks in advance
    Pramila

  16. Chandra Says:

    I tried this recipe today and it turned out quite well.
    I have made some modifications to your recipe.
    Hope you don’t mind me posting it on my blog!
    Thanks.
    Chandra

  17. Kredyt_pod_zastaw_samochodu Says:

    Someone necessarily help to make severely articles I would state. That is the first time I frequented your web page and to this point? I surprised with the research you made to make this particular post amazing. Wonderful task!


Leave a Reply

