Mysore Masale Dose-Independence day Special

 HAPPY INDEPENDENCE DAY !

do.jpg

Mysore is a City of palaces. This city is also know for its famous Dasahara Festival which is nine day festival during navarathri. Many foods which originated from Mysore has taken its name like Mysore pak, Mysore rasam, Mysore bonda and my favorite Mysore masala dosa.

I’ll be representing my home town Mysore, Karnataka with the entry ‘Mysore Masala Dosa’ in the Grand Independence day Food Parade hosted by Indira of Mahanandi. Thanks Indira for this special event, being very far from home this is one way I can express my love towards Mother India.

Recipe for Dosa batter.

  • Urad dal       1 cup
  • Long grainRice  1 cup
  • Paraboiled rice   1 cup     
  • Moongdal&Channadal 1/2 cup
  • Methi seeds         1tsp

Soak the above dals together for about 4-6 hrs and grind them into smooth batter of medium consistancy.  Keep it overnight or about 8hrs for fermentation . Add little salt. Now batter is ready to make dosas.

Masala dosas are usually served with a spread of red garlic chutney and aloo/potato palya inside the dosa and coconut chutney on the side.

doc.jpg

Recipes for Red/garlic chutney            

  •  Garlic 3-4 cloves
  •  Onion 1 small (cut into big chunks)
  •  Red chilli Powder   1tsp
  •  Tamarind   1/4 tea spoon                 
  •  Salt         to taste. 

 Aloo Palya/ Potato dry curry 

  •     Potatos    2 large
  •     Onion      1 large
  •     Green chillies    2-3
  •     Salt     to taste
  •     Oil, mustard, turmeric and channa dal  for tempering.

Coconut Chutney                                                   

  •      Coconut    1/2 cup
  •      Cilantro leaves 1/2 cup
  •       Green chilles   2-3
  •       Tamrind      1/2 tsp
  •        salt    to taste

  Preparation :                        

  • Red chutney

Take all the mentioned ingredients for red chutney. With adding little water grind into smooth paste. Keep aside.

  • Potato palya

Heat oil in a skillet. Add oil, when its hot enough add mustard and channa dal and turmeric. When channa dal starts to change color add chilles and chopped onions and fry for 3-4 mins untill soft and translucent. Now add potatoes and mash well,adjust salt to taste. Keep aside.

  • Coconut Chutney

Grind the above ingredinets for coconut chutney by adding little water to a smooth paste. Keep aside.( I have added more cilantro to make it green)

Making dosa and serving them.

  • Heat the dosa skillet on medium high heat. When its hot smear some oil or butter(Traditionally masala dosa is done usuing butter).
  • Take two laddle full of dosa batter and spread on the skillet in ciucular motion. Let it cook for 2 min or untill side leaves when lifted using  a spatula.
  • Now spread red chutney and aloo palya on dose. Fold over.
  • Serve with cocnut chutney on side. If u prefer butter, a dollop of butter on top.

              

 Enjoy !

36 Responses to “Mysore Masale Dose-Independence day Special”

  1. krithika Says:

    What a wonderful entry ! Authentic mysore masala dosa. Thank you so much for sharing.

    Thanks Krithika for your nice words. Being from mysore this was an easy choice for this event.

  2. shilpa Says:

    Wow..superb entry. I am happy to see an entry from Karnataka. Since I am a Konkani, I sent a Konkani dish and was hoping someone would send a Kannada dish to the event :). Well done.

    Thanks Shilpa, being from mysore i really wanted to make some thing authentic. I saw ur knokani  veggi Gajbhaji, it looks lovely with all those veggis and had very nice coclour to it.

  3. Indira Says:

    Just looking at it makes my mouthwater. Loved your entry and the color combination.

    Thanks Madhu for participating in IDFP with this classic recipe.

    Thanks Indira for your lovely comment. Its my pleasure to participate in such a event. Will be waiting for the Parade.

  4. Priya Says:

    Awesome !!
    I have tried Mysore masala dosa without the green coconut chutney. A must try one for me.
    Beautiful presentation !

    Thanks Priya for nice coment. I have spread green chutney on dosa just for this occasion. Only red chutney and aloo palya are spread inside and green chutney is served on side. It really tastes great with green chutney. Try it.

  5. menutoday Says:

    Hi Ruchi,
    Excellent presentation!! Thanx for sharing.

    Thanks Menu………

  6. Archana Says:

    Fabulous presentation, thank you for the recipe.

    Thanks Archana for your nice words.

  7. Puspha Says:

    Delicious!!! Happy independence day.

    Thank you Pushpa Happy Independence to you too.

  8. RP Says:

    Wonderful presentation!
    Happy independence day!

    Thanks RP.

  9. Arjuna Says:

    Great presentation! Happy independence day.

  10. Latha Says:

    Hi Madhu,
    Jinx! I told you we think alike. Except I’m not as innovative and creative as you! Lovely presentation 🙂 The tiranga dosa looks delicious!
    I made Masala Dosa last night (except my coconut chutney was brown because I ran out of cilantro!) and took pictures but have been so busy that I did not have a chance to post as yet. I did not make it to the IDFP! 😦
    I will post my pictures soon anyway 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!
    Cheers
    Latha

    Hi Latha, Thats so nice u too made masala dosa.I really added more cilantro than usual to make it more green :). Will be visiting ur blog to see ur post. Thanks .

  11. Sudha Venu Says:

    Hi,
    Thanks for the recipe, for which I waited for so long. I am from North Karnataka now staying in Dubai. Mysore Masala has always been a favourite of mine and wondered how and what makes the red spread inside so delicious. This weekend of mine would be special coz’ of this.
    Thanks again.

    Welcome to my blog Sudha. Please let me know when u make it. I too really love north karnataka style ‘jolada roti’ & ‘ennagai’ . But don’t have the recipe for that. Thanks sudha.

  12. Tanuja Says:

    Hi Madhu,

    Neema masala flag dosa tumbha chenagide,I never made with green chutney thanks for sharing this dish.

    Thank u Tanuja. Let me know if u give it a try with coconut chutney.

  13. Ashwini Says:

    Loved your entry Madhu…keep it up

    Thank you Ashwini.

  14. vineela Says:

    Hi Madhu,
    Brilliant Idea.
    I love dosa and photos are excellent .
    Now i can try your mysore dosa .
    Thanks for sharing.
    Vineela

  15. sharmi Says:

    today I went through all the recipes of yours. they are all so simple and unique. I loved most of your recipes and did not know where to comment. lovely blog!!
    warmly
    Thanks you so much for stopping by Sharmi, Do try it some times and let me know how you liked karnataka recipes.

  16. Lynn Says:

    Hi,
    I have for years wondered what the red masala was made of – i even tried grinding coconut with red chillies–NO LUCK !! Thanks for sharing your recipe !

  17. Mansi Says:

    Hi Ruchhi,

    That’s a beautiful representation to suit indian flag and its colors!! awesome job, on the dosa too, not just the presentation:)

    -Mansi

  18. Ashu Says:

    Hi Ruchi,
    Tried out the red and green chutneys’ yesterday.. they are yummy 🙂 Keep posting!

    I am so glad you like the chutneys.. thank you for stopping by and letting me know.

  19. rama varma Says:

    hai ruchi,
    i made mysore masala dosa according to ur reciepe. turned out to be a big hit. before getting this reciepe i was clueless as to how to make red chutney. thanks for this nice reciepe.

    Glad to know you like the recipe, red chutney is the key for masala dosa. Thanks for trying it out.

  20. srivats Says:

    have a look at this youtube video of how to make the dosa

    it makes the process making the dosa a little easier for those who in the usa have flat griddles and are forced to use flat griddles because their electrical heating elements allow only such shapes…
    also .. in the usa because most houses are airconditioned, fermenting may not occur at all .. so you add some dry yeast to the batter .. it will help ( dont add too much !)

  21. Sapna Katti Says:

    Very nice presentation!!! Looks Awesome and i m already in the kitchen with the recipe, just trying the same way. Hope my mysore masala Dosa comes good….

  22. Lalu Says:

    Very bad presentation!!!

  23. Mysore Masala Dose « Ruchii Says:

    […] Posts Masale DoseSet dosa and SaguSpring Onion CurryBadam MilkAkki Rotti (Riceflour roti)Rave Idly-Kadalebele […]

  24. Jyothsna Says:

    Hi Ruchi,

    I tried your recipe last week. It tasted awesome. I am making it again today. Thanks for the recipe and the wonderful presentation.

  25. Harshad Joshi Says:

    Umm… mouth watering…. 😛

  26. Nehal Says:

    Hi Ruchii, i searched for the recipe and ur blog popped up first. I clicked and I decided I will not go further as ur recipe is complete. Thanks for sharing suchgood recipe.

  27. Heartburn Home Remedy Says:

    Hey, nice tips. Perhaps I’ll buy a bottle of beer to the person from that chat who told me to go to your blog 🙂

  28. Malathi Says:

    Tasty,spice, mouth lingering. thanks for the receipe

  29. aji Says:

    hi!!
    Nice recipe…one doubt..is moongdal & chanadal 1/2 cup each or together should amount to 1/2cup.

  30. srini Says:

    Karnataka doosa is fucking doosa. they r stupide peoples.

  31. kumarram Says:

    Venge from chennai, he is big fucking gay. Grabing money from one good company in dubai.He acting as a sincer gay.
    God will not forgive him.

  32. Indian Food NJ Says:

    Thank you for sharing and I want to share information about Madras Bistro which offers a wide range of delicious North and South Indian vegetarian dishes. Situated in the heart of Bergen County, Madras Bistro is located in Hackensack, NJ.

  33. Berta Says:

    There are actually quite a lot of details like that to take into consideration. That is a nice level to convey up. I supply the thoughts above as basic inspiration however clearly there are questions just like the one you convey up the place a very powerful factor will probably be working in honest good faith. I don?t know if best practices have emerged around things like that, however I’m sure that your job is clearly identified as a good game. Both girls and boys feel the impact of only a second’s pleasure, for the rest of their lives.

  34. Kacper Says:

    There are actually a number of particulars like that to take into consideration. That may be a nice point to bring up. I provide the ideas above as normal inspiration however clearly there are questions just like the one you bring up where crucial thing will likely be working in honest good faith. I don?t know if best practices have emerged around things like that, however I am sure that your job is clearly identified as a fair game. Both girls and boys really feel the impression of just a second’s pleasure, for the rest of their lives.

  35. Pożyczka_pod_zastaw_samochodu_Kraków Says:

    You are my breathing in, I have few blogs and very sporadically run out from post :). “Analyzing humor is like dissecting a frog. Few people are interested and the frog dies of it.” by E. B. White.

  36. Russ Says:

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.

    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!


Leave a comment