Rice – Almond Pudding.

ri-al.jpg

Rice pudding is the simple and easy dessert  that I know to make. I make this as often as possible for my 16 month old daughter. 

Ingredients I used.

Cooked Rice        1/2 cup

Whole milk          1 cup

Almonds             Powdered (using 4-5 whole almonds)

Saffron              few strands (for colour and flavour)

Jaggery             1tbsp (Sugar can also be added)

 Method:

  • Bring milk to boil then add cooked rice, jaggery, almond powder. Stir will.
  • Soak strands of saffron in few tsp of milk. Then add this to the rice-milk mixture.
  • Then simmer it down for about 10 mins. Stiring in between.
  • Now its ready to be served. Hot or chilled.

Variation: Adding dry fruits like chopped dates and raisins makes it much more flavourful.

With a leftover cooked rice and few other ingredients on hand. This pudding will be ready under 15 mins. Enjoy!

15 Responses to “Rice – Almond Pudding.”

  1. Latha Says:

    Wow Madhu, looks yummy! Never heard of rice and almonds together. I have so many recipes I want to try. I will catch up soon.
    This must have been a Krishna Jayanthi special! Happy Gokulashtami!

    Cheers
    Latha

    Happy gokulasthami to you too Latha. This is my own recipe, Almond is subsitution for coconuts. This way its healthy and more tasteful. Thanks for your time.

  2. Puspha Says:

    That looks divine.

    Thank You Pushpa.

  3. Krithika Says:

    Looks delicious ! chandagide I hope I am saying this right.

    Thanks Kritika for your lovely comment in Kannada. I am really very glad to see you write kannada word. ‘Channagide’ ‘Chandagide’ its said both ways. Do you speak kannada ?

  4. sudha Says:

    That’s my favourite dish. I also prepare this regularly. Thanks for sharing a delicious and classic recipe.

    Thanks Sudha for stoping by. Rice, milk and jaggery always tastes good and comforting.

  5. Archana Says:

    That’s an easy dessert, nice idea Madhu. I almost always have left over rice which is not enough to fill a meal. Thank you, will try it out.

    Easy Indeed Archana. I always do pudding with leftover rice ….. Thanks for your comment.

  6. Shankari Says:

    Very innovative idea…

    My little one preffers sweet rice than rice sambar. Have to come up with something to make them eat🙂

    Thanks Shankari.

  7. krithika Says:

    I used to speak Kannada as a little kid as our next door neighbor in Delhi was a kannadiga and our house was right next to Madhwa Sangha.

    Thats nice to know..Kirthika. Once in a while i’ll be leaving some comments in kannada. How about that ?

  8. menutoday Says:

    Hi Madhu,
    Yummy” rice and almond pudding” thanks for sharing.

     Rice and almond combo tastes really good. Thanks MT .

  9. Asha Says:

    Hi Madhu, good looking rice pudding there ! Very traditional .

    My kids perfer vanilla essence but I add a little cardamom pd and chopped golden raisins.

    Cardomom powder is a nice addition to pudding. Thanks Asha.

  10. vineela Says:

    Hi Madhu,
    RICE PUDDING looks yum yum.Thanks for sharing.

  11. Kinga Says:

    I have to convey my gratitude for your kind-heartedness giving support to people who absolutely need help on this area of interest. Your personal dedication to passing the solution all-around came to be extremely productive and has usually encouraged workers like me to realize their endeavors. Your amazing warm and helpful guide denotes a whole lot a person like me and especially to my mates. Warm regards; from each one of us.

  12. Gangotri pratik biswas Says:

    thanx Madhu…..

  13. dobre kredyty Says:

    I loved as much as you will receive performed right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nevertheless, you command get bought an edginess over that you would like be turning in the following. in poor health without a doubt come more until now again as precisely the same just about a lot incessantly within case you protect this hike.

  14. Wlodzimierz Says:

    Thanks for each of your effort on this site. My mom enjoys setting aside time for internet research and it is easy to see why. Most of us notice all concerning the compelling method you provide insightful guidance through this web site and even boost participation from the others on this point plus our favorite daughter is really studying a great deal. Take advantage of the rest of the new year. Your performing a superb job.

  15. Pożyczka_pod_zastaw_samochodu_Kraków Says:

    Thanks for another excellent article. Where else could anybody get that kind of info in such a perfect way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such info.


Leave a Reply

