Moongdal Thove

thove.jpg

This is my entry for FMR#7(Comfort food) hosted by Revathi of En-Ulagam.

When we are tired of having curries,sambar  and all the spices and masalas. We like to have something plain and satisfying for our meal. Thove is definitely one thing I make. This is simple and easy to make.

So here is what we need.

th-i.jpg

Moongdal      1cup

Veggies

Bottle gourd   1cup chopped

onion           1 small

tomato         1

green chilles  1

Turmeric     pinch

For Tempering

Oil       1tsp

Mustard and cumin seeds.

For Garnish

Fresh lime/lemon juice  2tsp.

Corriander leaves.

Method.

  • Add pinch of turmeric to moongdal and pressure cook it untill its soft.
  • Now add veggies, onion , tomato and chilles. Add water to desired consistancy. Let it cook for about 10min or until veggies are soft.
  • When veggies are soft enough add salt and switch off the heat.
  • In a different pan do the tempering adding mustard and cumin to hot oil .
  • Lastly add fresh lime/lemon juice and garnish with cilantro leaves.

Serve hot with rice or chapathis.

Thove with rice and curd chillies on side is considered as comfort food at my home.

 th-d.jpg

* Commonly used veggie for thove is ridge gourd. Bottle gourd ,chayote squash can also be used.  Or it can be made without adding any veggies at all.

* If making as a side dish for chapathis. Add less water.

  • Curd chilles(called as Balka in kannada) are made by making slit and soaking fresh green chillies in sour curd for a day and they sun dried untill color changes to half white. Once completely dried it can be stored in air tight container. For longer shelf life store in Refrigarator.It is  available in Indian grocery stores.

Curd chilles are deep fried in oil and used instead of green or red chilles. It is used for making raitha, seasoning rice or as a sides.

 1.jpg2.jpg

 Dried  Curd Chillies                       Curd Chilles deep fried 

18 Responses to “Moongdal Thove”

  1. Revathi Says:

    This is sooo good. Comfort food at its essence. Btw doo you have any experience in food fotography. the fotos and the arrangement are amazing !!!

    Thanks for participating in FMR. See you in the round up !!
    Cheers
    Revathi

    Rice & thove its the best. Thanks u so much for the compliments revathi, I have zero experince in any kind of photography. That was so nice of u to say so. 

    Pleasure is all mine,Will be waiting for roundup. Thanks.

  2. shilpa Says:

    I love your blog, bcos the names look so familiar to me. This is a nice recipe :). I knew normal ‘thove’ but with moongdaal and vegetable, it is new to me.

    I too feel the same way shilpa when I visit ur blog. This is slightly different from the thove, they serve during wedding lunch. If u give it a try ,let me know.

  3. Priya Says:

    Wow…the pictures do look very comforting…even I prefer non-oily, non-spicy dishes after a tiring day. They dont tax your body in any way. My frnd makes this dish quite often without veggies and its really yum with plain rice

    Thoves are usually made without  veggies. Just dal and some seasoning. Thats true Dal and rice is always comforting… 

  4. sudha Says:

    Hmm.. true comfort food. Easy and healthy. I do make this very often. Nice photos. Thanks for sharing. ,

    I too make this as often as possible. Thanks Sudha.

  5. Priya Says:

    Beautiful picture of the curry Ruchi !

    I make something similar with snake gourd, add fresh ground pepper for seasoning. Shall try your version soon. Love these kind of dals.

    Thanks Priya, adding snake gourd tastes delicious. Fresh ground pepper ……will try this way next time.

  6. Latha Says:

    Hi Madhu,

    The pictures look so inviting! The plate with rice and thove looks like it is ready to be eaten.
    In my house we usually make thove with veggies and toor dal. I will try it with moong dal the next time.
    Thanks,
    Latha

    I have never tried thove with toordal, will give it a try for sure. Thanks Latha.

  7. Krithika Says:

    My mother makes this and we usually eat this with roti. I try and use different vegetables. Pictures look great.

    Thove goes very well with rotis, i too love it with chapathis. Thanks Krithika.

  8. vineela Says:

    Hi Madhu,
    I like this very much.My mom always makes this .Yummy with hot rice with ghee.
    really comfort food and nice photos.
    Vineela

    Thats true Vineela dal,rice and ghee is always comforting. Thanks.

  9. menutoday Says:

    Hi

    I like the pictures. Nice recipe , thanx for sharing.

    Thanks for stoping by.

  10. Puspha Says:

    Looks good.

    Thanks Pushpa.

  11. Monisha Says:

    Hi Madhu –

    That looks delicious, the photo is amazing – looks bright and inviting, like a lil’ drop of sunshine !

    Oh thank you Monisha for such a lovely coment.

  12. navin Says:

    there is no comments in this dhal. That is very nice cooking of you.I enjoyed very much.thanking you.

  13. s rao Says:

    I own and run a south indian restaurant in the deep south of UK. Do link me in as I am new to the blogging world. It is great to see such a large community of Indian food bloggers particularly female.

  14. Hemant Trivedi Says:

    Hello Madam,

    I liked curd chillies snaps and other recipes.
    Can I use your photo for a posting on chilli website please?
    I will give u credits with URL of your blog.

    Hemant Trivedi

  15. Suma venkatesh Says:

    Hello,
    I used this recipe, i always make dhal like this, what’s the difference . I missed something 🙂
    Thanks for a very nice post.

  16. Klara Says:

    You completed a few nice points there. I did a search on the subject matter and found the majority of people will go along with with your blog.

  17. Izabela Says:

    I would like to take the opportunity of saying thanks to you for the professional assistance I have enjoyed checking out your site. I’m looking forward to the commencement of my university research and the entire preparing would never have been complete without browsing your site. If I might be of any help to others, I might be glad to help through what I have discovered from here.

  18. Pożyczka_pod_zastaw_samochodu Says:

    Perfectly pent subject material, Really enjoyed studying.


Leave a comment