Spinach-Black-eye peas Fritters / Halasandekalu-Soppina Vade

I don’t make deep fried food very often, reason one being health concious and secondly I don’t like frying, after doing it I don’t like eating them. But I don’t mind eating it once in a while made be others.

When I get huge cravings to eat some spicy fried food, I can’t help but try and make it little healthy by adding spinach and lentils. So over the last weekend I made some Halasandekalu vade(black-eye peas) and spinach (soppu) vada.

I’ll send this as my entry to Mansi’s Fun & Food for Monthly Mingle-Appetizers & Hors’Doeuvres.

Ingredints required

  • Black-eye peas – 1 cup (soaked for 2 hours in water)
  • Red onion- 1 meduim chopped finely
  • Spinach – 1/2 cup chopped( I used frozen)
  • Cilantro leaves-1/4 cup chopped
  • Green chillies- 3 or more chopped
  • Ginger- 2″ peice chopped
  • Red chilli powder- 1 tsp
  • Salt to taste.
  • Peanut oil  for deep frying.
  1.  Soak peas in 3 cups of water for 2 hours. Drain all the water and grind it to  course paste.
  2. If using fresh spinach chop and add. Since i used frozen i thawed and squeeze water out of it and then used it.
  3. Add all the above chopped vegggies mix well. Add chilli powder and salt to taste.
  4. Heat oil on medium-high heat and fry them in batches of 3-4 at a time, till golden brown on both sides.

Enjoy !

24 Responses to “Spinach-Black-eye peas Fritters / Halasandekalu-Soppina Vade”

  1. Mansi Says:

    I am like yout oo, avoiding frying as much as possible:) but sometimes you just crave it so much!! these vadas look great:) thanks so much for sharing it with us at MM!:)

  2. raaji Says:

    Hi,’
    nice try……
    by the way where do we get black-eye peas????
    never heard of them before…..
    check out my blog at:
    http://raajis-kitchen.blogspot.com/

  3. Lakshmi Says:

    halasande vade mastagi ide Madhu. ee sarthi madbeku antha idini. Nimma veg cutlet recipe bahala chennagi banthu.

  4. ranji Says:

    awesome!!!soo crispy and delicious..loved it..

  5. vanamala Says:

    Oh Halasandekalu Vade, healthy nice snack

  6. Latha Says:

    that looks yummy madhu!

  7. Asha Says:

    Looks delicious Madhu, very crispy. It’s so hot here now, I don’t even feel like cooking but have to do it veruday!:)

  8. Harini Says:

    Hi Madhu,
    Thanks for another tasty recipe! I tried it today, my husband and me loved it. It is very innovative to include healthy ingredients like Halasandekalu and Spinach.

    Try adding some sabakki soppu (Dill leaves). It adds some more flavour to this already tasty recipe.
    God bless you dear!

  9. sridevi Says:

    wow thanx for another tasty snack

  10. Jeena Says:

    These look a lovely treat! Nice picture for click. 🙂

  11. Suma Gandlur Says:

    I avoid frying too but sometimes cravings win. Right? It is healthier though because of the spinach and the beans.

  12. sushma Says:

    Madhu first time here this is nice recipe will give it a try.

  13. A&N Says:

    Well, anybody who follows/pretends to follow 😉 a ‘diet’ needs to indulge once in a while 🙂 This is a great ‘vegetarian’ way to do it 🙂 It still has tons of nutrients in it. Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  14. priyanka Says:

    Just the thing to munch on during rainy days which are abundant here in S. florida….great recipe

  15. Jaslyn Says:

    I feel the same about fried foods. They’re messy to make and cause a great amount of guilt and remorse after indulging in them. At least this recipe you’ve posted is full of nutritious ingredients 😉 Thanks so much!

  16. Bharathi Says:

    Hi,
    Where r u these days? Plz post some new reciepes ..
    – Bharathi

  17. priya Says:

    Hey i know this dish it really very good. My hubby likes it very much

  18. srilekha Says:

    wow! thats a new recipe for me!

  19. Zlamushka Says:

    that is a recipe for me tooo 🙂
    looove fritters. these look really colorful, yum!
    Riicha, I hope you are participating this month´s T&T. We re cooking from Monsoon Spice. I have extended the deadline for another 10 days, so please, when you get a chance, I am sure you ll love Sia´s recipes.

  20. semladewi Says:

    hai sridevi tthank for cooment thatis arecipe is delisious

  21. warszawaprzeprowadzki Says:

    Good post. I be taught something more challenging on totally different blogs everyday. It should always be stimulating to read content from other writers and observe just a little something from their store. I’d want to make use of some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  22. Tomasz Says:

    wonderful points altogether, you simply gained a emblem new reader. What could you recommend about your put up that you just made a few days ago? Any sure?

  23. healthy diet Says:

    I must thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this website.
    I really hope to view the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own, personal blog now 😉


Leave a comment