Pumpkin Curry / Kumbalakayi Palya

While growing up my mother never prepared any dish with pumpkins, this was the vegetable that we always used to eat at our grandmothers house in village, where they grew their own pumpkins in the backyard. I like the flavour and texture of pumpkin very much and enjoyed them.

After I got married, at my MIL’s place they also had a small backyard and they too grew pumpkins. When ever she make doses she always make pumpkin sagu, i’ll post the recipe sometimes. My hubby liked pumkin and from there on I started using pumpkin on daily basis, mostly I make palya a dry curry or stirfry with Pumpkins.

Apart from the fact that it has nice colour and texture  this veggie is loaded with Beta-carotene when consumed converts into Vitamin A, a powerful anitoxidant. That is one more reason I use them often now.

Recipe is very simple.

Vegetable

Pumpkin I used is Butternut squash – about 2 cups chopped to bite size peices

Tempering

  • Oil – 1tsp
  • Mustard seeds/ saasive – 1/tsp
  • Cumin/ Jeera/Jeerige – 1/2 tsp
  • Channadal/Kadalebele – 1tsp
  • Red chillies – 2 crushed
  • Hing- 2 pinchs

Garnish

  • Fresh/frozen Coconut-1tbsp
  • Cilantro leaves- 1tbsp chopped
  • Lime juice – 1tsp
  1. Peel the outer layer and cut pumpkin into small bite size peices.
  2. Heat oil in a pan, when hot add all the tempering ingredients one by one, when channadal starts to get brown add cut veggies. Cover with a lid and cook on medium heat untill just tender. This takes about 15 minutes.
  3. Once the pumpkin is tender, switch off heat and add salt, and garnis with coconut and cilantro. at the very end sqeeze lime/lemon juice and mix well.

We had it with rice and sambar for our lunch today. Playa also tastes good with dosas and chapathis. 

Anjali of Supreme Spice and Lakshmi of Taste of Mysore have given me Yummy blog Award. Thank you girls so much I am very pleased and appreciate for passing it to me.

                                                   

Now I would like to Pass this award to all the food bloggers who cook delicious meals and post excellent pictures, its hard to pick just few. So it is to all of you, Indian food bloggers.                                                     

Enjoy !                           

 

14 Responses to “Pumpkin Curry / Kumbalakayi Palya”

  1. Hetal Says:

    thats a nice recipe..

  2. Srivalli Says:

    thats a simple one..even growing up my mom never used to cook much of pumkin…but now we do!…congrats on the award!..

  3. bhags Says:

    pumpkin is vibrant colour and perfect taste….nice recipe and good pic…congrats for the award

  4. notyet100 Says:

    when i was child i never used to eat…but now whn i hve strted cookin i just love the taste…nice recipe..

  5. ranji Says:

    this looks so simple and delicious…addition of peanuts makes it even better..

  6. TBC Says:

    I’ve never been too crazy about pumpkin. Your dish looks lovely.

  7. vanamala Says:

    Hi looks nice curry..and sandwich looks toooo yummy
    I have something for u on my blog do check out.

  8. mamatha Says:

    Hi ,
    Naanu ide reethi kumbala kai palya madutene, Akki rotti jote valle combination, try once

  9. sukanya Says:

    Hi… Ur pumpkin curry looks so Delish!. Never tried this before. YUM!… Lovely color. Nice picture…

  10. lakxmi Says:

    HI ,
    last week I tried the kumbalakayi palya.It came out fantastic! thankyou

  11. harshu Says:

    wow… its really nice receipe

  12. Malwina Says:

    I wish to voice my love for your kind-heartedness in support of women who actually need help on that niche. Your special commitment to passing the message all through had been amazingly important and have surely empowered professionals much like me to arrive at their targets. Your personal invaluable guideline indicates a lot to me and substantially more to my office workers. Many thanks; from each one of us.

  13. Alfons Says:

    There are certainly loads of particulars like that to take into consideration. That could be a nice level to carry up. I offer the ideas above as general inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you carry up where the most important factor can be working in honest good faith. I don?t know if greatest practices have emerged around issues like that, but I’m certain that your job is clearly recognized as a good game. Each girls and boys feel the affect of just a moment’s pleasure, for the remainder of their lives.

  14. guest Says:

    I just made this. Used yellow mung instead of chaana dahl. The sweetness of the pumpkin mixed with the coconut and the lemon is delicious. Thank you🙂


Leave a Reply

