Chakali and Jamun for Deepavali

chakali-jamum.jpg

Festivals for me is getting together with family and friends, eating good food and having good times. Here I miss family and friends but make some sweets and snacks on  special occasions.

Jamun is the one sweet everyone loves in my family so made it with MTR instant mix and for something savoury crunch made chakali with bit differnt recipe then usual. I got the recipe from my cousin, who got it from her friend , this chakali is made with Wheat flour and cooked moongdal with some spices added to it. I liked it very much, its crunchy and buttery to taste, but without the butter.

My entry for Vee‘s JFI-Festival edition.

collage-chakli.jpg

Recipe is very simple.

  • 1 cup- Moongdal
  • 2 cups- wheat flour
  • Cumin/jeera- 1tbsp
  • Ajwain/carom/ om seeds- 1/2tbsb
  • Chilli powder- 1 tbsp or more
  •  Salt – as per taste
  • Peanut/groundnut oil for deep frying.

*Can add some sesame seeds too.

  1. Pressure cook moong dal by adding enough water to make it smooth and keep wheat flour in the pressure cooker without adding any water. Just steam it. (I kept it for 2 whistles or 10 mins after putting the weight).
  2. Once the pressure is gone allow it to cool for 5 mins or so then mix cooked moongdal, steamed wheat flour, salt, chilli powder, cumin and carom seeds and knead to smooth and soft dough. (If too stiff add little water).
  3. Then with help of chakli moulds press to desired shapes, I made few coils  by pressing on sheet of wax paper. Or one can directly press into hot oil.(I made few batches of coils and few batches directly pic below ).
  4. Keep Vessel on medium heat once hot enough put 2-3 coils at a time and fry for few minutes(less than 2 minuteson medium heat).It doesn’t take to long for it to get crisp so watch it.
  5. It turns from soft dough to bit hard texture that when you want to take chaklis out and drain on paper.
  6. Enjoy it when its warm and when completely cooled, store it in air tight container.

chakli.jpg

*Since wheat flour is usedcolour changes pretely quickly once it hits the hot oil. And does not absorb much oil.

Thanks Roopa(my cousin) and her friend for this buttery crunchy chakali. This is a keeper.

Have  a nice weekend !

20 Responses to “Chakali and Jamun for Deepavali”

  1. kalva Says:

    wow cant beat this combo!! happy diwali dear

  2. vineela Says:

    hi,
    happy deepavali.
    chakli and gulab jamun looks delicious.
    vineela

  3. lathanarasimhan Says:

    Yum! jamun is looking so nice!:) happy diwali!:)

  4. Rajitha Says:

    wow..the base of chakli is so healthy!! thnks for sharing that…and hope u had a great diwali 🙂

  5. Asha Says:

    YUMMY! I thought they were Ragi hittu chakli at first. Looks delicious. Jamuns are mouthwatering. Did you explode some firecrackers? We had lit some sursurbatti since noise making “bomb” patakis are illegal here!:D

    It do look like ragi, now I see that. Oh wish I could get some sursurbathis…..

  6. bindiya Says:

    what a lovely combo! great recipes- am going to try out both very soon!

  7. Puspha Says:

    Lovely spread. Happy deepavali.

  8. Namratha Says:

    Wow, chakli is perfect!! Love th jamoons too, lovely combo! 🙂 A very happy deepavali to you 🙂

  9. Vani Says:

    Happy Deepavali, Madhu! Buttery chakli looks yum! And jamun delicious!

  10. sushma Says:

    hi Chakkuli luks so tempting my all time fav this is infact even the jamoon too.. its long time i didnt hv it..i hope u had great diwali..

  11. Vee Says:

    Now that’s a a healthy Chakli. Something the health-conscious can fell better about eating. How much does the wheat flour change it’s taste? though, I am thinking once deep fried, it really wouldn’t matter. 😀

    Thanks for participating! Hope you and yours had a fantastic Diwali!

    You guessed it Vee, one cannot tell the difference. Just tastes like good chakli 🙂

  12. Rakhee Says:

    Hello,
    Thanks for giving the Chakali reciepe. Now I need to look on line and find a chadki maker like the one you have. I do not seem to find it anywhere any idea where i can get one?
    Thanks

    I got mine from India, i think you’ll get in Indian stores here. Searching online is the best thing to do. Happy diwali to you too.

  13. Rakhee Says:

    A very happy Deepawali to you and your family.

  14. Latha Says:

    this looks delicious! Love the white platter!
    Hope u guys had a happy deepavali.

  15. swati Says:

    hi, Thank you sooo much for the lovely easy to make anywhere in the world ( away from Grocery stores selling readymade bhajani..) Luckly I have the mould.. thanks again swati from NZ

  16. Dionizy Says:

    I’m impressed, I must say. Really not often do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you might have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the problem is one thing that not enough persons are speaking intelligently about. I’m very glad that I stumbled across this in my seek for one thing relating to this.

  17. Bogdan Says:

    Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you Nonetheless I’m experiencing problem with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting an identical rss downside? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

  18. Waclaw Says:

    I’m still learning from you, while I’m trying to reach my goals. I definitely enjoy reading all that is written on your site.Keep the stories coming. I loved it!

  19. Regina Says:

    It’s onerous to find knowledgeable folks on this topic, but you sound like you realize what you’re talking about! Thanks


Leave a comment