Majjige Huli / Yogurt Curry

Day 16 of Recipe Marathon #2.

Majjige (meaning curds/yogurt in kannada), Huli means thick curry made by grinding coconut with spices(huli also means sour/tangy). I make this whenever I have lots of yogurt at home or sometimes  when I am bored of eating sambar with rice.

Different kinds of squashes are used for making this curry, most common is ash gourd, other veggies and squashes like cucumber, winter squash, chayote, bottle gourd are used. I made this with Chayote (seemebadanikayi/chow chow) squash, which is available in our store all year.

huli

Ingredients

  • Curds/yogurt – about a cup ( I used home made)
  • Chayote squash – 1( skin peeled, core removed, chopped and cooked till tender)

For grinding into paste

  • Coconut grated- 1tbsp or more
  • Dalia Dal/hurigadale – about 2tbsp
  • Cilantro/coriander leaves- 1 big hand full cleaned and washed
  • Chillies red or green – 2 or 3
  • Cumin seeds – 1tsp

Tempering

  • Oil, mustard seeds, urad Dal and – 1tsp each
  • Hing a pinch
  1. Cook squash with little water, until just tender.
  2. Grind into smooth paste all the above ingredients with adding enough water.
  3. Mix grind paste with yogurt, to the add cooked squash mix well. Add salt and adjust to taste.
  4. Do the tempering by adding mustard seeds and urad dal to to oil, add hing. When dal starts to change color add the tempering to yogurt mixture. Mix well.

Enjoy with hot rice.

Check out recipes of my fellow Marathoners.

1. DK 2. Siri 3. Srivalli 4. Ranji 5. PJ 6. Curry Leaf 7. Medha 8. Priya 9. Bhawna 10. Raaji 11. Anu 12. Kamala 13. Roopa 14. Divya Kudua 15.Rekha 16.Divya M 17.Lakshmi 18.Raaga 19.Lakshmi Venkatesh 20.Sripriya 21.Viji 22.Kamalika 23.Pavani 24.Karuna 25.Roochi
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

15 Responses to “Majjige Huli / Yogurt Curry”

  1. Lakshmi Says:

    Lovely Color kanri! I love majjige huli, anna and majjige menasinakayi

  2. Sharath Says:

    this has become my bible for cooking. The dishes are so mouth-watering, wish I could ve also tasted them🙂

    thank you!

  3. CurryLeaf Says:

    Lovely.I have not heard about chow chow huli.

  4. G.Pavani Says:

    ooh..madhu it looks colurful n spicy

  5. Priya Says:

    This curry is completely new to me..looks wonderful..

  6. rekha Says:

    bayialli neeru bartaide kanri noodoke super agide yum yum

  7. Medhaa Says:

    i just finished my chayotes and wish i had seen this before. will try the next time

  8. Bhawana Says:

    this looks really very tempting. lovely color, for a very new recipe to me.

  9. przeprowadzkigdanskcennik Says:

    I would like to express appreciation to the writer just for rescuing me from such a dilemma. As a result of exploring throughout the the net and obtaining solutions which are not pleasant, I believed my entire life was done. Living minus the approaches to the issues you have fixed as a result of your main post is a crucial case, and ones that might have in a wrong way damaged my entire career if I hadn’t encountered your blog. That training and kindness in maneuvering every aspect was important. I don’t know what I would have done if I hadn’t come across such a solution like this. I am able to now look forward to my future. Thank you so much for your impressive and sensible guide. I will not think twice to suggest your web page to any person who should get guidance on this topic.

  10. Cyprian Says:

    Good post. I study one thing tougher on completely different blogs everyday. It can all the time be stimulating to learn content from different writers and observe a little bit one thing from their store. I’d prefer to make use of some with the content on my blog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll provide you with a link on your net blog. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Czeslaw Says:

    Enjoyed examining this, very good stuff, thankyou . “Nothing happens to any thing which that thing is not made by nature to bear.” by Marcus Aurelius Antoninus.

  12. Ilona Says:

    Aw, this was a really nice post. In concept I wish to put in writing like this moreover – taking time and precise effort to make an excellent article… however what can I say… I procrastinate alot and on no account appear to get one thing done.

  13. Aniela Says:

    The next time I learn a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I imply, I know it was my choice to learn, but I truly thought youd have something fascinating to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you would fix for those who werent too busy in search of attention.

  14. kredyty chwilowki Says:

    Dead pent content, appreciate it for selective information. “You can do very little with faith, but you can do nothing without it.” by Samuel Butler.

  15. Pożyczki_pod_zastaw_samochodów_Warszawa Says:

    Absolutely written content material, thanks for selective information. “Life is God’s novel. Let him write it.” by Isaac Bashevis Singer.


Leave a Reply

