Vegetable-Chutney Sandwich

 

 

As many of you have guessed this is my entry for Sandwich festival hosted by Anupama of Food and more. At our house we  like sandwichs with chutney spread inside and vegetables raw or roasted and always toasted and warm.

So here is the recipe for chutney.                           

  • Cilantro leaves- 1 bunch
  • Green chillies- 2(medium hot)
  • Ginger and garlic- 1 each
  • Lime juice- 1 tbsp
  • Salt to taste.

Clean cilantro leaves and grind together with little water. Squeeze lime juice and mix well. Chutney is ready to be used.

Chutney can be stored in fridge up to 4 days and can also be used as spread for burgers, on soups, making fried rice and goes very well on top of chats and puffed rice.    

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For making Sandwich

  • Whole wheat bread- 2 slices
  • All natural swiss cheese- 1 slice
  • Vegetables- tomato, shallot and avacado slices
  • Salt and pepper for taste
  • Mustard (optional)
  • Olive oil- 1 tsp for roasting

Arrange 2 slices of bread, spread chutney on one side and top with veggies sprinkel salt and pepper. On another bread put cheese and close it , put little oil on both sides and toast on grill which I have used. Can also be made on griddle/tava or in the oven.

Makes for quick breakfast or snack. Enjoy when its warm.

 

16 Responses to “Vegetable-Chutney Sandwich”

  1. Asha Says:

    Great idea! Iyengar bakery style with cucumbers slices too!:)

    Good to see you, that was quick.I never had sandwich in bakery, should try it once when I am in India.

  2. masalamagic Says:

    that looks delicious madhu! I love avocadoes in sandwiches and rolls, they taste heavenly!

    Thanks Latha, I am hooked on Quisnoz sub with avacado spread.

  3. Vani Says:

    Lovely pix, Madhu! Those avacados must have added a nice flavor & texture to the sandwich.

  4. Anjali Damerla Says:

    This is my all time favorite weekend lunch. Pair this with a soup and you have one healthy and quick meal.
    I sometimes add cucumbers too. And I also sprinkle some dry peanut chutney🙂

  5. ranji Says:

    great grill marks…loks so good..i can have so many of these..love it..great for picnics:)

  6. Lakshmi Says:

    Sandwich looks yumm. Looks like you did not see my comment on your last thread. There is a award waiting for you on my blog.

  7. notyet100 Says:

    HI…LOOKS NEW ND YUMMY…

  8. 365DaysVeg Says:

    Awesome recipe, lovely pics. mouthering. Can I have one of those sandwiches please?

    –Priya (365 Days of Pure Vegetarian)

  9. Haley Says:

    We would like to feature your sandwich on our blog. Please email haleyglasco@gmail.com if interested. Thanks🙂

    Haley

    blog.keyingredient.com/

  10. Harshad Joshi Says:

    Ummmmmm…mah mouths watering.. :)“

  11. Asha Says:

    Nice, this is a quicke, when u have very little time to make something..🙂 My kid likes it with just the chutney & ketchup!!

  12. bydgoszczprzeprowadzki Says:

    Can I simply say what a relief to seek out somebody who really knows what theyre speaking about on the internet. You definitely know methods to carry an issue to gentle and make it important. More people must read this and understand this aspect of the story. I cant consider youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  13. Emil Says:

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to grasp so much approximately this, like you wrote the ebook in it or something. I think that you just can do with some percent to force the message house a bit, however other than that, that is excellent blog. A great read. I’ll certainly be back.

  14. Feliks Says:

    A powerful share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing just a little evaluation on this. And he the truth is bought me breakfast as a result of I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If possible, as you grow to be expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more particulars? It’s highly helpful for me. Large thumb up for this blog submit!

  15. Witold Says:

    I just couldn’t go away your website prior to suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the usual info a person provide for your guests? Is gonna be again incessantly in order to check out new posts.

  16. Pożyczka_pod_zastaw_samochodu_Kraków Says:

    Simply a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw great design and style. “Better by far you should forget and smile than that you should remember and be sad.” by Christina Georgina Rossetti.


Leave a Reply

