Sprouted Moongdal Dose

I make dosas atleast once a week for our weekday or weekend brunch. We like to eat dosas with aloo palya and chutney or only with  chutneys somethimes or even gojju. The leftover dosa batter I always use that for making  onion-chilli uttapam. This week I had some sprouted moongdal, so tried it along with some onion and tomatoes.

These days I have upgraded my dosa recipe from regular rice to brown rice to make it little more nutritious. With sprouts added to it, this will make a complete healthy breakfast.

Recipe for Dose Batter

  • 2 cups – brown rice
  • 3/4 cups-urad dal
  • 1/2 cup – poha/aval/avalakki
  • 2 tbsp – channa dal
  • 1 tbsp – methi seeds

Soak all the ingredints in enough water for 8 hours. Grind to smooth batter, let it ferment for 8 more hours. Then it will be ready to me made to dosas/pancakes.

For  making utthapa/ toppings

  • 1/2 cup – sprouted moongdal
  • 2tbsp- sweet sliced onions
  • 2tbsp- tomatos
  • 1tsp of each- chilli powder, cumin powder and  salt.

Mix them all together.

  1. Pour a laddle full of dosa batter on hot griddle/tava. Sprinkle 1 tbsp of mixture in top. It will spread on its own.
  2. Cover for few seconds, let the bottom side get light brown and cook through.
  3. Flip  for few seconds and serve.

Can eat it like that, we had ours with yougurt mixed with chutney-powder.

Enjoy !

17 Responses to “Sprouted Moongdal Dose”

  1. Athisaya Divya Says:

    Healthy delicious Dosa..

  2. sushma Says:

    Hey liked ur idea of adding sprouted dals to dosa..

  3. sia Says:

    thats really one innovative recipe.

  4. vanamala Says:

    Hi Madhu

    How are you doing ?

    Nice recipe..healthy one.

  5. ranji Says:

    wow!!it looks so good..never thought of putting it in dosas!!!very healthy too.thanks for thje idea..

  6. Latha Says:

    Good to see u in action again Madhu! The Dosa looks and sounds very nutritious. I had a sprouted moong oothappam at Adigas in Bangalore once, the moong curry was spicy and added a zest to the dosa!

  7. Kalai Says:

    Looks delicious!! I love the idea of adding sprouted moong! Nice to see you back. 🙂

  8. Namratha Says:

    Hmm interesting one again, does the moong dal cook through when the dosa is cooking or does it still taste raw?

    Since we cook only few minutes on tava, it doesn’t become too soft or tastes raw either. We still get sweet little crunch.

  9. Lakshmi Says:

    Long time never saw you Ruchi. Those hesarukalu topped dose looks good. gr8 idea to feed some to children.

  10. Kumudha Says:

    Dosas look so tasty and nutritious. And the pineapple gojju in the other post also looks tasty and delicious!

  11. Lakshmi Says:

    Hi Ruchi, I have a award for you on my blog. Go get it!🙂

  12. Hetal Says:

    Hi,visiting ur blog for the first time,u have a nice blog!!Sprouted moongdal dosa is good..would love to see u on my blog..

  13. Ashwini Says:

    Hi Madhu,
    Does dosa taste good with brown rice? will the taste be different or same? can you please let me know so that I can try it….

  14. Pior Says:

    I like examining and I conceive this website got some truly utilitarian stuff on it!

  15. Irmina Says:

    Can I simply say what a relief to seek out someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how you can convey a problem to gentle and make it important. More people must read this and understand this aspect of the story. I cant consider youre not more fashionable since you definitely have the gift.

  16. Dorota Says:

    I’m still learning from you, but I’m making my way to the top as well. I definitely liked reading everything that is posted on your site.Keep the aarticles coming. I enjoyed it!


Leave a Reply

