Cooking and Awards

I have been trying out recipes from my fellow bloggers lately. Here are some of the recipes i have tried so far.

sweet-potato.jpg

This is Suma’s Sweet potato chutney. The day I saw this recipe on her blog, I brought home some sweet potatoes and tried it, it was very delicious and nutritious too. Now I make this very often, reason being apart from healthy its as easy as grate and grind. Now I keep this veggi on hand all the time, goes very well with rice, dosas and idlies. Thanks Suma for this delicious and healthy recipe, I love making and eating it.

 khandvi.jpg

Couple months ago I was talking to my cousine who is in NJ, she was telling me that she has a new gujarathi neighbour and she is learning new dishes from her and they made Khandvi  and it was delicious. She told me over the phone how they made that using inverted plates and so on. At that time I had no idea was she was telling. Then for RCI – gujurat cusine I saw many recipes of khandvi on blogs and came to know about it.

When I saw this on Nupur’s blog (she calls it Suralichi wadi)I thought of making it. But when I saw the same on Sia’s blog I was drooling over it. So the next day I reffered Nupur’s blog and read the recipe and instruction for more than 10 times and finally made it at first attempt. It was differently delicious I must say. Thanks to Nupur and Sia for their mouthwatering pictures and recipes, which they have explained very beautiful, even first timers like me can make it.

falafel.jpg 

The above dish is of baked chickpea falafel from Siri’s Corner. The magic word baked, is why I made this dish. One thing I did wrong with this recipe is that, I kept the mixture for too long(more than 24 hrs)in the fridge, so when baked it was bit dry. But it was very delicous, nice recipe to do for get-togethers, easy thing  is will be done under 10 minutes (baking part).Thanks Siri for this healthy falafel recipe, i’ll be making this often.

mushroom.jpg

I am not a big fan of mushrooms, I have tasted them only as a topping on my pizzas, which I don’t like. When I saw this recipe of Mushrooms I was really impressed by the way the dish looked, very colourful and tasty, its from Suganya’s Tasty palettes. If I ever wanted to try any dish with mushrooms, this was the dish. I made this last week for our dinner with chapathis it was delicious and I liked it, sesame paste combines very well with mushrooms.

I was expecting the result to be same as Suganya’s but didn’t, its in the chilli powder I will try this using kashmiri chilli powder next time. Thanks Suganya for the recipe, next on my list is your Sweet potato fries.                                                                                          

Now coming to awards, I am very excited to recive this award  from fellow blogger Vanamala of Nalapak. Thanks Mala.

I like to pass this awards to Latha, Lakshmi and Asha.

19 Responses to “Cooking and Awards”

  1. Vani Says:

    All the dishes look wonderful, Madhu! I’ve never attempted to make khandvi, though I love it. Sweet potato chutney sounds like a very interesting recipe. Thanks for showcasing other bloggers’ recipes that you tried. Nice work & congrats on the award!

  2. shriya Says:

    All the recipes looks so good. Esp khandvi thats something totally new to me, but it really tempting me to try. Nice collections, good try. Congrats on your award.🙂

  3. Uma Says:

    the recipes are fantastic. Nice pics.

  4. Uma Says:

    By the way, congrats on the awards.

  5. TBC Says:

    I’ve been planning to try out the baked falafel too.
    Congrats on your awards.

  6. Deepa Says:

    Congrats on your awards ….Excellent recipes ….

  7. Nupur Says:

    Everything looks delicious! Glad the suralichi wadi recipe worked out for you.

  8. Asha Says:

    Great dishes to try. Happy Intl women’s day to you. Look at my Khandvi!:))

    http://aromahope.blogspot.com/2007/04/khandvi.html

    Enjoy the awards too, have a great weekend.

    I have not come across your Khandvi, will check it. Happy women’s day to you too.

  9. Suganya Says:

    Madhu, I am so glad you liked mushroom masala. The color is also due to the tomatoes. They were quite in season and ruby red in color. If you are trying to achieve the color, try using a tomato paste too, next time. Thanks🙂

    Ah, its the tomato paste,thanks Suganya. Will try adding chilli powder and tomato paste next time.

  10. sagari Says:

    congrats on your awards and all those food lookk soo yummy

  11. Zlamushka Says:

    Hi Madhu,

    That is so nice of you to try fellow blogger´s recipes. The pics look lovely. I am sure all othe other girls are really happy to read about your success. And congratulations on the awards.

  12. masalamagic Says:

    Good going Madhu! All recipes look good. The sweet potato chutney looks uniuqe – i should give that a try!
    And thanks dear for the award!

  13. redchillies Says:

    Congratualtions on wining the awards, Madhu. All great selections and you tempt me to try the Khandvi and the baked falafel sandwich!

  14. Lakshmi Says:

    Congratulations! Madhu. We learn to cook varieties by blog hopping. Enjoy !!

  15. Siri Says:

    Nice array of dishes Madhu and glad u liked my Oven baked Falafel. U r right, if we put the mixture for more than 4 to5 hours in fridge, they don’t turn out well. I did the same mistake too!.. hehehe..

    I am glad u liked it..:) and Congratulations for ur award!

    Siri

  16. sia Says:

    u have been quite busy madhu… each and evrything u cooked looks absolutely delicious:) glad i could inspire u to make khandvi. they r quite simple isn’t it?

  17. Wojtek Says:

    I really like studying and I conceive this website got some truly utilitarian stuff on it!

  18. Kornelia Says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I really assume this web site needs much more consideration. I’ll probably be once more to learn much more, thanks for that info.

  19. Kredyt_pod_zastaw_samochodu_Kraków Says:

    I genuinely enjoy examining on this web site, it has got great articles. “A short saying oft contains much wisdom.” by Sophocles.


Leave a Reply

