Black-Eye Peas Pakoda

blackpeas-pakorda.jpg

I had some left over cooked black-eye peas in my fridge from last 3 days. And I was thinking to add that  to veggies when I made curries. Its almost weekend and I am out of vegetables, so no curries untill I go and get some fresh produce.

For lunch today I made rice and tomato sambar, was feeling like having something crunchy with that so just thought of making pakoda with black-eye peas(1 cup cooked), so sliced some red onions(1 meduim) and green chillies(1 ) mixed to leftover peas and added 2 tsp of rice flour(for crispiness) and salt to taste. Deep fried in the hot oil for 3-4 mins, untill crisp on outside.

It tasted like pakoda and as well as vada(channadal kind), very different and delicious at the same time. I thought of naming it as ‘Vakoda‘🙂, since it looks like pakoda I stick with that.

*Since I have used cooked peas, peas were soft when bite into it and crispy at the same time from onions.

Have a nice Weekend .

7 Responses to “Black-Eye Peas Pakoda”

  1. Namratha Says:

    Vakoda is nice!! Good one, you sure do have some unique recipes🙂

  2. Lakshmi Says:

    vakoda looks tasty. Happy New Year to you. alasande kaalu vade is also done and it tastes good too.🙂

  3. masalamagic Says:

    looks delicious, veyr innovative madhu!

  4. Mythreyee Says:

    I have heard of black eyed beans vada. The pakoda looks wonderful. Very very innovative.

    Thanks Mythreyee..

  5. sindhu shenoy Says:

    wow vakoda looks yummy.. i was just thinking what new to try out with the leftover black -eye peas..great recipe!

    Do try it and let me know how you like it. Are you using cook or soaked peas..?

  6. Ramya Says:

    Excellent idea to use black eye peas this way. This pakoda looks so good. Thank you.

  7. Adrian Says:

    certainly like your web-site however you have to take a look at the spelling on several of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it very troublesome to inform the reality however I’ll surely come again again.


Leave a Reply

