Cornmeal Idlies

c-idlies-1.jpg

                        Cornmeal Idlies with Onion-Tomato Gojju

I make rava idlies regularly, just  for a change I tried making idlies using Cornmeal, it turned out pretty good and tasted more delicious than regular rava idlies.

Recipe is same as for making Rava/soji/semolina idlies. I used home made  slightly sour yogurt, one can substitute this with store brought yogurt or sour cream or both half and half.

Measurements

  • 2 cups of corn meal ( can use 1 cup of corn meal and 1 cup of rava)
  • 2 cups of  yogurt
  • 1 carrot – grated
  • few curry leaves and cilantro leaves.

For tempering

  • Oil- 2 tbsp
  • Mustard seeds- 1tsp
  • Channa dal- 1tsp.

Procedure:

  1. Heat oil in a pan add mustard and channa dal. When it starts to pop add corn meal and fry for 5 mins on medium heat.
  2. Swith off and once cool add carrot, curry leaves ,yogurt and salt. Mix well and keep this for 10 mins or so.
  3. Cornmeal mixture will be thick, add little water or more yogurt to make it bit thin.
  4. Pour and Steam them in idli moulds for 20 mins. Let it cool, unmould and serve with chutneys or gojju.

Details for making rava idlies click here.

 *Lately I have been having problem opening Food blog Desam. I have to try atleast 10 times before it opens. Just want to  know if any one else is experincing the same  problem or is it my connection problem.
Sorry ladies, for this reason I am not able to view most of your posts and unable to comment. Will catch-up soon.
      Enjoy !

30 Responses to “Cornmeal Idlies”

  1. Lata Says:

    Hmm..that was interesting. I never tasted corn meal in any form, should try that.

    Yes, Food Blog Desam always been like that for me. I keep hitting refresh button until it loads.

    Cornmeal tastes like rava/soji, but have good texture then rava. I tried making upma and idlies. If you like rava, u’ll sure like cornmeal. Let me know when you try it. For me Refresh button is not working either. Thanks Lata for stoping by.

  2. Manasai Says:

    Oh! This is so nice! I hv never tried idlis with cornmeal!! Love the color!
    I too face problems with FBD, need to refresh it around 6 times till it comes up😦 , hv been facing this for the last month or 2…😦

  3. Rajitha Says:

    hey madhu…great recipe!..and yes..FBD is giving some problems..i need to clicl at least 3 to 4 times before i get it to load..so i guess all of us are in the same boat!!

  4. Roopa Says:

    wow Madhu thats great🙂 love the colour and truly on my list ….

  5. Dhivya Says:

    Thats an innoative idea..healthy and tasty to boot i guess…

  6. TC Says:

    Almost like polenta idlis.
    What a wonderful idea. Bookmarked!

  7. Namratha Says:

    Now that’s a very unique idli!! Good one🙂

  8. Shella Says:

    Wow what a lovely colour of the idlis. Love the idea. Yes I too get this problem quite often, n am unable to access FBD.

  9. Suganya Says:

    Madhu, That is so innovative. Thanks for the idea.

  10. Jayashree Says:

    Nice recipe…..nice colour too…..I too have tried out a variation to regular rava idlis by using wheat rava instead of sooji. do chk it out when u find time. thx.

  11. Raaga Says:

    Hi,

    I have corn rava and will try this very soon.

  12. Happy Cook Says:

    Tat is really clever to make idlis with them. I made once a cake with corn meal and turn out really good

  13. vanamala Says:

    Hey loved your corn idlies madhu. Nice one, never tried this..

  14. revathi Says:

    thats very creative. Regarding FBD, sometimes i get error mesasge sometimes it takes a lonngggg time to load..

  15. Latha Says:

    Hey Madhu,
    Delicious looking idlis! And the gojju looks resplendent with color!
    I’ve had the same issue with Food Blog Desam. I visit Anusharaji’s Food Blog updates – which is similar to food blog desam… check it out…

    http://www.talimpu.com/foodblogs/

  16. Baskaran Says:

    Is it possible to replace corn meal by fresh corns for making the batter
    Regards
    Baskaran

  17. padma Says:

    Ruchii, this must be tasting similar to Rava Upma, isin’t it?
    Looks so yummy and must have tasted superb!

  18. Zlamushka Says:

    Super interesting. This one I am totally trying out🙂

    Do let me know ,when you try it.

  19. Rupa Says:

    Idli’s look Deli.cious.I had not heard of cornmeal idlis.Will try for sure.
    Thanks

    Its like rava idlies with a differnece…do try it.

  20. Niveditha Says:

    Hi Madhu,

    A very different way to make Idlis. I always keep looking to try new things. I tried this recipe and it turned out quite good except that it was not as soft as the regular Idli.
    Is the yougurt making any difference ? Any tips for softer cormeal idlis ?

    I love your other recipes too.. I have lot of relatives in MYsore since my mom is from Mysore. Even my husband is from Mysore !

    Thanks.

    Thanks for trying it out and letting me know. since yogurt is the main ingredient, it makes difference.
    Add thick yougurt and leave for 10- 15 minutes. then add little more yougurt or water to thin it a bit, batter should not be too thick or thin. Hope this helps and make soft ones next time.

  21. Vani Says:

    Hey Madhu, I was wondering if you might be interested in the Arusuvai chain (if you’ve not already been a part of it). Please let me know!
    The corn meal idlies look delish, btw

  22. Madhuram Says:

    OMG, I also got the same idea, but was hesitant to try it. The idlis look very good. I’m gonna try it very soon.

  23. kavitha Says:

    Hi Madhu,
    While I’m browsing blogs ..i got ur site,,i like it very much ur site…
    How did u make corn meal…..u bought from outside or u made at home…if u made at home, how can we made corn meal at home?

  24. aslesh Says:

    hi, cornmeal is corn flour? or what? pls tell me. mail to me.
    thanks very much

  25. przeprowadzkiwroclaw Says:

    Once I initially commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the same comment. Is there any manner you’ll be able to take away me from that service? Thanks!

  26. Slawek Says:

    A person necessarily assist to make critically articles I might state. That is the very first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I surprised with the analysis you made to make this actual submit amazing. Magnificent job!

  27. Robert Says:

    I don’t commonly comment but I gotta tell thanks for the post on this perfect one : D.

  28. Augustyn Says:

    Howdy! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

  29. Justyna Says:

    I’m often to blogging and i really appreciate your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and hold checking for brand spanking new information.


Leave a Reply

