Badam Barfi

badam-1.jpg

When Sunitha announced spice for this month as Saffron, the only thing I had in my mind was Badam barfi. So today I made it and was very delicious with rich flavour of almonds and saffron.

When ever I make sweet dishes I use saffron for garnishing and for its pleasent aroma and light yellow colour it gives to the dish. For this badam dish I have added saffron for coloring(added bit more) and for garnish.

                                                                        My monthly spice event...

 This is my entry for Sunitha’s Think Spice-Saffron

badam-2.jpg

Ingredients for Burfi:

  • Almonds – 1cup
  • Sugar- 1/2 cup(Use more for more sweetness)
  • Water- 3/4 cup
  • Milk – 2 tbsp (to disslove saffron)
  • Ghee – 2tbsp (1tbs for greesing the plate)
  • Saffron- 1/4 tsp
  • Cardamom- 1 pod (crushed)

This above measurement makes 12 peices of the size of the above picture.

  1. Add one cup of whole almonds to boiling water, switch off and cover and let it stand for an hour. Then peel the skin (it slights of easily).
  2. Grind the almonds with little water(can use milk)to smooth paste.
  3. Take a thick bottomed pan add water and sugar and disslove sugar. Then add almond paste and saffron dissloved in milk.Add 1 tbsp of ghee and cardamom powder. Mix well.
  4. Mixture will be very dilute, keep stirring every few minutes on medium-high heat. It takes about 30 -40 minutes untill the mixture gets thick.
  5. Once it starts to get thick and starts leaving the edges of the vessel, transfer it to the greased plate(see the above picture).
  6. With back of the spoon knead it like dough(to smooth is out and keading give glossy finish) and spread on plate and cut to desired shape.(At this point one can make like balls or pedas). Garnish with some saffron and chopped almonds on top.
  7. Let it cool and Enjoy !

*I have added just 1 tbsp of ghee, so mine was bit chewy. Adding more ghee give crumbly texture to the burfi.

20 Responses to “Badam Barfi”

  1. Asha Says:

    Great sweet for Dasara. I made this in MW for Ganesha festival, came out really good!:))
    Have a great weekend. Don’t forget to check my post!:D

    Its been very long time that I made any sweets, came out really good. Thanks Asha. Happy Dasara to you too.

  2. Rajeswari Says:

    Looks nice…:))

    Thanks Rajeswari.

  3. Happy cook Says:

    Delicious sweets. You may parcel them to me anytime you want :-))

    Sure will make a fresh batch and send them to you.🙂

  4. Kaykat Says:

    I love the series of pictures – really neat.

    And it looks delicious!

    Thanks Kay.

  5. Tee Says:

    I am speechless…this looks so gorgeous and must be tasting heavenly! Will try out your recipe for Diwali🙂

    Its bit time consuming, but with freshly ground almonds and saffron its heavenly. Thanks for the complements.

  6. Madhavi Says:

    Very nice burfi. Looks good and i assume its really easy to make.

    Happy Dasara!

    Madhavi.

    Happy Dasara to yo too Madhavi, its really easy (except the time)🙂 and delicious too.

  7. Dhivya Says:

    Badam barfi is my evergreen fav! luks very good:)

    I like all nut bufis, first time home made is ever better🙂. Do try it some times.

  8. Namratha Says:

    These burfis look so moist and delicious, totally reminded me of my granny’s burfis..thanks for the recipe!

    It really turned out very well for me Namratha very easy too.

  9. rinasrecipes Says:

    Burfis look so cool..Luv them, thx for sharing.

    Thanks Rina, do try it sometimes.

  10. mansi Says:

    hey, this looks really nice, and contrary to what I thought, it doesn’t have a lot of ghee!! that’s great…I think I’m def gonna try this!

    as you’ve updated your events list for AFAM-Peach, I think I can assume you are sending your entry soon!:)

    Yea, now I know sweets doesnot have to have much ghee. Do try it . You guessed it, I’ll be cooking with peaches for the Event. Thanks for the reminder.

  11. kalva Says:

    looks delicious!

    Thanks Kalva.

  12. Suganya Says:

    Tender and delicate, just the way I like it. Looks great!

    Thanks Suganya.

  13. Roopa Says:

    nice one i make it plain adding kesari makes it very aromatic🙂 happy navratri Madhu !

    Yes for the event I used bit more then usual of saffron. Gives nice color and aroma. Happy dasara to you to.

  14. sunita Says:

    This is one of the favourites in our family…yours look delicious…thanks for sending it over.

    I am glad to have send you your fav sweet🙂.

  15. redchillies Says:

    I love Badam Burfi, but get intimidated to try it. But you have given great instructions. Makes we want to try it!

    Making sweets this way is bit time consuming, but will all come together. If I can make it you can too, do try it.

  16. Padma Says:

    That looks so delicately, sweet treat to me! Nice photos presentation!

    Thanks Padma, its slightly sweet with lots of nutty flavour.

  17. MUNAZZAH Says:

    ple tell me racipe

  18. Urszula Says:

    Sweet website , super design , very clean and utilize pleasant.

  19. Arkadiusz Says:

    I believe that is one of the most vital information for me. And i’m glad studying your article. However should remark on some normal issues, The site taste is great, the articles is in point of fact nice : D. Just right task, cheers

  20. Kredyt_pod_zastaw_samochodu_Kraków Says:

    I’ll immediately grasp your rss feed as I can’t find your email subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please allow me recognise in order that I may subscribe. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

