Raddish Raitha with Cumin.

raddish-raitha.jpg

I use cumin in my cooking almost daily either in form of seeds for tempering or in powder form for curries or rasam. For red-raddish raitha(Mulangi pachadi in kannada) I have used cumin in both forms as  a whole seeds and powder.

 cuminlogo31.jpg

This is my enrty  for Think Spice-cumin by Sunita of Sunitha’s world.

 Recipe is very simple..

Curd/yogurt – 1 cup (i used low fat home made yogurt)

Veggies – Radish 2 small grated, tomato – 1 and red onion- about 2 tbsp

For tempering : Oil- tsp, cumin(freshly made) powder-1/2 tsp each and cumin seed 1 tsp.

Salt for taste

collage.jpg

  • Grate, chop veggies and add this too yogurt.
  • Dry fry cumin seeds on medium heat for minute or so and using mortar and pestle, couresly pound cumin.
  • Heat oil add cumin seeds when is start crackling switch off the heat and add red chilli and cumin powder(Adding powders to the hot oil enhances the flavour).Immedietly add to veggi-yogurt mixture.
  • Mix  well and serve.

When eating raitha you can taste crunchy cumin seeds with  smokey aroma of cumin powder. Raitha goes well with rice or as side for chapthis.  Simple, healthy and tasty.

Enjoy!

24 Responses to “Raddish Raitha with Cumin.”

  1. saju Says:

    looks for cool, just the dish to go with hot spicy food in this weather – that right we are have a hot day in London today!

    You bet, it will be good for hot weather.

  2. bee Says:

    oh, no!!! radish!!!😀

    Hate Radish… you have to try atleast once with red raddish, you might like it …

  3. Rajitha Says:

    nice pics.. i have lots of radiah sitting in my fridge ( my quest to eat healthy!)..maybe i will make this one.

    You have lots if raddish then try it…….please let me know,how you liked it.

  4. Asha Says:

    Love the Radish Raita/Pachadi.Tastes so great with some hot and spicy rice. Looks great Madhu.

    Thanks Asha, we had it with just plain rice..tastes good with spicy rice have to try it.

  5. Ashwini Says:

    Hey madhu,
    I have a ques…did u use red raddish?

    Yes Ashwini ui used red raddish it had mild flavour and not that smelly then regular white ones.

  6. TBC Says:

    I make this dish often but it never looks so pretty. What a beautiful pic!

    This is the first time I used red raddish in pachdi, it tasted great. will do it more often from now on.

  7. Nupur Says:

    That is the most tempting raita ever! Can almost taste it…

    Oh thanks Nupur.

  8. Roopa (Kitchenaromas) Says:

    That’s a stunning color for the raita. I’ve never paired raddish with cumin powder. Will try it!

  9. Roopa (Kitchenaromas) Says:

    Oh yeah – thumba chennagidhe!🙂

    Thanks Roopa, do try it with cumin tastes good.

  10. Sreelu Says:

    Radish Raita good idea must have been mouth watering

    Thanks Sreelu, it was delicious

  11. Latha Says:

    Looks delicious Madhu! I’ve made grated radish raita but this one is very different!
    thanks Latha, will be checking your blog to see the difference🙂

  12. Lakshmi Says:

    I love this madhu. I have this on my menu for my chapathis at night. Cooling and refreshing raita. Only difference is I use white raddish!
    You must be getting some fresh mulangis,here white ones are like thermacoals no taste at all. I get red ones only during summer and its mild and refreshing.

  13. lathanarasimhan Says:

    Nice pachadi! With the jeera it will be definitely tasty! Fresh raddish is very cooling too!

  14. Sneha Says:

    Beautiful Picture!!!

  15. Asha S Says:

    Madhu, I’m going to try making this raita with beetroot today, with your mint rice, since I dont ahve red radishes. Nimma website nanage thumba ishta, because I find healthy, tasty & lowfat recipes. Thumba thanks for taking the time out to cook & share your recipes & pictures. I can imagine all the hardwork that goes into it

    Asha S

    Beetroot raitha sounds delicious.. super combo with mint rice.

  16. Richa Says:

    raita looks so good, am ready to devour it immediately🙂

    Thanks Richa.

  17. Shankari Says:

    I dont like radish, maybe this one will make me eat it. I love roasted cumin tho

    I find red raddishs mildder than white once. Try it you might like it.

  18. Zlamushka Says:

    Hi Madhu,

    this is my first time here and I must say, you have a beautiful blog there with awsome pictures. I enjoyed reading this one, because I always lack ideas for radishes. This is a good one. You ll hear from me again for sure🙂

    Thankx

    Welcome, I would love to know how you like the radish raitha.

  19. Radha Says:

    Hi Madhu,

    I had tried your Raddish Raitha. It is very G8.

    Thanks a Lot

  20. przeprowadzkiwarszawatanio Says:

    Thanks so much for providing individuals with an exceptionally memorable chance to read articles and blog posts from this site. It’s usually so superb and also stuffed with fun for me personally and my office mates to search your website on the least three times in one week to find out the new secrets you have got. Of course, I’m so always astounded with the sensational opinions you give. Selected 2 areas on this page are in truth the best we have had.

  21. Zygmunt Says:

    Good post. I be taught one thing more difficult on completely different blogs everyday. It would at all times be stimulating to read content material from other writers and practice somewhat one thing from their store. I’d desire to use some with the content material on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a hyperlink on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  22. Nina Says:

    Thanks a lot for providing individuals with an exceptionally wonderful chance to check tips from this site. It really is so pleasing and as well , stuffed with amusement for me personally and my office acquaintances to search the blog at least thrice weekly to learn the new things you have. And of course, I am just usually fulfilled with the great techniques you give. Selected 1 facts in this article are in reality the most effective I have had.

  23. Rozalia Says:

    You are my aspiration , I have few blogs and infrequently run out from to brand.

  24. Pożyczka_pod_zastaw_auta_Kraków Says:

    I think that is among the most significant information for me. And i am glad studying your article. However wanna observation on few common issues, The site taste is wonderful, the articles is in point of fact nice : D. Just right process, cheers


Leave a Reply

