Mint Rice/ Pudina Pulav

pudina-pulav-1.jpg

This is an one pot meal. With few simple ingredients, this dish will be done in under 20 mins. Simple, fragrance full and tasty quick fix rice. This will be my entry for JFI-Rice Hosted by Sharmi of Neivedyam.

                                                                 jihvarice1.jpg

  • Vegetables I Used.

Carrots – 2

Peas – 1/2 cup (frozen)

Onion- 1 small

  • Spices

Fennel seeds- 1 tsp

Cloves – 2

  • For Grining

Cilantro and Mint leaves 1 cup and green chilli 1.

  • Others

Rice – 1 cup,  Oil for tempering and salt for taste.

  1. Wash and soak rice (I use basmathi) for 10 mins or till the time you chop veggies and saute them.
  2. Take the thick bottemed vessel(can use pressure cooker too) add oil when hot add fennel seeds and cloves, than add veggies saute till onions are soft and translucent. In a meanwhile gring cilantro,mint and chilles to smooth paste using enough water.
  3. When veggies are half cooked add grinded paste and 2 cups of water(for 1 cup rice). When water comes to boil add soaked rice, salt. Cover the pot with lid simmer it down for 10-12 min.  It will be doen by this time.

Enjoy !

21 Responses to “Mint Rice/ Pudina Pulav”

  1. Asha Says:

    Looks yummy!So few simple spices. Great entry, can’t wait for the round up so I can save all these:)
    Thanks Asha, me too waiting for the round-up, will have lots of rice dishes we can try.

  2. Latha Says:

    Looks yumm Madhu!
    Thanks Latha, easy to make too..

  3. Rahin Says:

    hey madhu …..the pulav looks very tempting …yum
    Thanks Rahin, yumy and easy too…….

  4. Hima Says:

    That pudina rice is looking so mouthwatering. I am in full mood to make some kind of rice today, as I dont have pudina at home, I have to adjust myself with something else. Great Entry.
    Try it with just cilantro it will be good. Thanks Hima.

  5. Tee Says:

    I too have made something like this once….mint pulav tastes awesome and refreshing. I loved the idea of adding fennel seeds, will try it next time.
    Try it, fennel give sweet aroma to one pot rice dishes.

  6. Lakshmi Says:

    Mint Pulav is most preferred one pot dish at home. Happy to see it here.
    Thats ture for me too, most prefered than usual besebele-baath.

  7. Richa Says:

    true, the aroma of mint is amazing, will try fennel next time.
    Combination of mint and fennel will be great….try it.

  8. bhags Says:

    mint rice, nice combo…tastes great
    Thanks Bhags…

  9. TBC Says:

    Nice entry for the event. I have never used mint with rice before.

  10. Namratha Says:

    Aww they look so similar!🙂 But your recipe is different…;)

  11. anusharaji Says:

    that looks divine
    i kinda leave carrots for others😉

  12. Sneha Says:

    Mint Pulav looks delicious, Madhu!
    Thanks Sneha, hope you had nice vacation……

  13. LavanyaGopalakrishnan Says:

    hey, the pulav is too good… i prepared for Potluck…
    it came very well

  14. Anu Says:

    Hi,

    Your pudina rice looks very inviting. I have posted my version of pudina channa pulav in my blog Anu’s Kitchen. Do have a look at it when u get time. Would be happy to receive your comments🙂

  15. Anushya Says:

    Thank you for teaching this recipe

  16. Bogusawa Says:

    Sweet internet site, super layout, real clean and apply pleasant.

  17. Kamil Says:

    Hello, Neat post. There is a problem together with your website in web explorer, would test this… IE still is the marketplace leader and a good component of people will leave out your fantastic writing due to this problem.

  18. Blanka Says:

    Thanks so much for giving everyone such a memorable chance to read critical reviews from this web site. It can be very beneficial plus full of fun for me personally and my office co-workers to visit your website at the very least thrice in a week to read the new issues you have got. And definitely, I’m actually astounded with your great thoughts served by you. Selected 4 ideas in this article are particularly the most efficient I’ve ever had.

  19. Adam Says:

    I must express appreciation to the writer for bailing me out of this type of problem. As a result of looking throughout the the net and seeing notions that were not helpful, I believed my life was done. Living minus the answers to the issues you’ve resolved as a result of the posting is a crucial case, and ones which may have adversely damaged my entire career if I had not noticed your site. Your personal competence and kindness in playing with everything was excellent. I’m not sure what I would have done if I had not encountered such a solution like this. I am able to at this time relish my future. Thank you so much for your professional and results-oriented guide. I will not be reluctant to suggest your site to anyone who would like guide on this subject.

  20. Karol Says:

    The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I imply, I know it was my choice to read, but I really thought youd have something attention-grabbing to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you may repair should you werent too busy in search of attention.

  21. Aleksandra Says:

    I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this website. Reading this info So i am happy to exhibit that I’ve an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed. I so much for sure will make sure to don’t put out of your mind this website and give it a glance regularly.


Leave a Reply

