Cracked Wheat Pudding / Godhi Paayasa

godi-paayasa.jpg 

Godhi is wheat in Kannada.  This sweet is made of cracked wheat/broken wheat and makes up for a very healthy dessert.

Ingredints

  • Cracked/broken wheat – 1/2 cup(serves 2)
  • Jaggery – 1/4 cup (powdered)
  • Almond and cashew – 1/4 cup powdered
  • Cardamom/Elichi- 2 pods crushed
  • Ghee- 1 tsp (for roasting of cashews and raisins)
  • Milk- 2 tbsp Optional( for my kid I add milk)

Method :

  1. Pressure cook broken wheat with enough water up to 2 whistel or 10 mins. Let it cool.
  2. Take a heavy bottom pan add 3 cups water or milk (or half milk and water). To that add powdered  jaggery,almond-cashew, cardamom(Adjust sweet as per your taste). Let it boil and then add cooked wheat.  Leave it for 10 mins or so stirring inbetween, add more milk or water to desired consistancy.
  3. Lastly add ghee roasted cashews and raisins.

*Note: Once it cools it becomes bit thick in consistancy, so while making it make it bit thinusing water or milk.

Enjoy it when its warm. 

18 Responses to “Cracked Wheat Pudding / Godhi Paayasa”

  1. Suma Gandlur Says:

    Healthy dessert. I have eaten it in halwa form, never tried paayasa. Will try your way next time.
    Halwa ? never tried or eaten it. Sound interesting. To try paayasa and let me know Suma. Thanks

  2. Usha Says:

    Hi!
    Paayasa in wheat? never heard of this recipe! pic looks tempting to have a spoon full now!
    This is commonly made paayasa most popular in mangalore- mysore region. Do try it youl” surely like this. Thanks Usha

  3. viji Says:

    Could feel the smell here Ruchi. Very nice. Viji
    Thanks viji. Do try making and taste it too……

  4. Suganya Says:

    I have seen my mom make halwa with this. Payasam? No… Different recipe..
    Hmm.halwa love to taste it….looking for recipes…..Paysaa is quick for making do try this.

  5. sia Says:

    another kannadiga? first time to ur blog and loved seeing traditional godhi payasa… this is the only payasa i loved eating chill aprt from kharjura payasa… love godhi halwa also:)
    Yep I am from Mysore. I too love godhi paysaa have to try making kharjura payassa will be looking for recipe at your blog. Thanks for stoping by.

  6. Asha Says:

    I have to try this Madhu.Looks delicious but never made it at home.Thanks for posting this.
    Do give it a try Asha and let me know. Its very easy to make and tastes great.

  7. Richa Says:

    hey, payasaa looks yum, love jaggery based sweets🙂 It sure is a healthy dessert.
    I make whole wheat flour halwa on similar lines, do check out my version if you get a chance!
    Thanks Richa, After seeing comments left by fellow blogers I was looking for halwa recipe,thanks for mentioning will be heading over to your blog to check it. Do try payassa recipe.

  8. Aruna Says:

    Madhu, Yummm!!!! Its been long time since I prepared payasam, its mouthwatering🙂
    Do blog about it. would love to know your recipe for it. Thanks Aruna.

  9. Deepa Says:

    very healthy one and yummy also ..thks for sharing
    Do try it Deepa. Thanks..

  10. Lakshmi Says:

    Yippeee idanna godhi huggi antharalwa? hmm, long time never made it. I have some broken wheat at home, will try this tomorrow.
    Goddi huggi is new name to me, its also know as goddi nuchhu. Your a mysore girl……so must have made and post a recipe at you blog, will love to try your recipe.

    • Keshav Says:

      In Hyderabad-Karnataka region (Gulbarga,Raichur) this i s called godi kuttu.Since the wheat is pounded to break it I guess it is called kuttu after the kannada verb to pound or break.

  11. kajal Says:

    Very nice recipe of healthy desert….We all love this dessert and a long time to make it. Thanks for remembering my dear.:)
    Thanks for visiting my blog….Keep in touch.:)
    Thansk Kajal, healthy indeed. do try it.

  12. Asha S Says:

    Madhu, Your blog is a real treat. Not only do the recipes look delicious they are healthy too! Keep posting…
    Thanks Asha for the compliments….. well tryiing to make it as healthy as healthy possible……
    s

  13. Namratha Says:

    This so reminded me of my ajji’s godhi payasa…till she made it I had no idea goshilu payasa madthare antha! I will try this, I feel like eating godhi payasa now :o)
    Its easy too you can put all the ingredinets in one pot and pressure cook it.

  14. Faye Says:

    Looks wonderful! Have you tried this in a slow cooker?

  15. Priya Says:

    Hi All,
    I have not heard of this reciepe, still tried it once… trust me .. its very delicious and its a protien rich reciepe … good for all, especially for pregnant ladies…..
    Regards,
    Priya

  16. chetan sangoram Says:

    Tuuuuumbbbbbaaaaa thanks reeeeeee

  17. Roman Says:

    There are definitely plenty of particulars like that to take into consideration. That is a great level to convey up. I supply the ideas above as basic inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you convey up where crucial thing can be working in trustworthy good faith. I don?t know if finest practices have emerged round issues like that, but I’m sure that your job is clearly identified as a good game. Each boys and girls feel the influence of only a moment’s pleasure, for the remainder of their lives.


Leave a Reply

