Oatmeal Pudding

oatmeal.jpg

I got oatmeal from the store and tried making upma once neither of us liked upma. It was too chewy for us. I had lots of oatnmeal left. Thought of making some dessert and did make pudding yesterday it turned out very well . Now I can finish off the whole box of oatmeal. With the combination of milk, jaggery, ghee and any ingredient added to that tastes good.

I call it puddding because I used the ingredients I used for making pudding but it tasted like halwa. I used jaggery instead of sugar for this pudding. So here is the recipe for simple and healthy oatmeal pudding/halwa.

Oatmeal      about 1 cup ( powdered using a coffee grinder)

Milk               about 1 1/2 cup

Jaggery        about 3 tbsp or more(add sugar or brown sugar instead of jaggery)

Ghee             about 2 tbsp

Cardamon    few pods chrushed.

  • First grind the oatmeal coarsly(can use the whole oatmeal without grinding).
  • Then with 1 tbsp of ghee roast oatmeal on medium heat untill its light brown in colour.
  • Take a heavy bottomed pan, add milk when it starts to boil add jaggery(crush it, so it dissloves easily) and cardamon.
  • When jaggery is completely dissloved add roasted oatmeal keep stirring it untill its bit thick in consistancy and milk and oatmeal has incorporated very well.
  • Lastly add 1 tbsp of ghee and mix well.

Eat it hot or warm. Enjoy !

*It tends to thicken a little bit more when its cooled. Tastes better when its warm.

*Can also add ghee roasted nuts.

Since this pudding is made with jaggery and never tried it before as Kay has said here…I would like to send this as my entry to Jihva for Jaggery hosted by Kay of Towards better Tomorrow.

20 Responses to “Oatmeal Pudding”

  1. Krithika Says:

    Very creative use of Oatmeal. With milk, jaggery, ghee and cardamom it has to taste good, right ?

    You cannot go wrong with milk,jaggery and ghee. Your twins will love it. Do try it Krithika. Thanks.

  2. lakshmi Says:

    very nice and yummy.

    Thanks Lakshmi

  3. supriya Says:

    hi madhu,
    jaggary and oatmeal… wow… u r really creative:)
    cheers
    supriya
    Thanks Supriya, had to make something to finsih the oatmeal, did an experiment and it was a hit.

  4. Lera Says:

    Madhu, you’ve got a very Innovative & nutritious pudding up there !

    Lera, it was an experiment and I am glad it turned out good. And it nutritious to. Let me know when you give it a try. Thanks.

  5. Trupti Says:

    Wow…this reminds of of our Gujarati Lapsi…! Good job, what a great entry.
    Kudos,Trupti

    Thank you Trupti, I don’t know what Lapsi is , but guessing its a dessert or a sweet dish. What do u make it with ? Do let me know sometimes.

  6. Vani Says:

    Very creative there,Madhu! Makes for a healthier dessert too!🙂

    Thank You vani, healthy indeed …

  7. Asha Says:

    Looks great and a healthy dishtoo, Madhu! I am at the beach but thought I would check you out:) I have Scones for breakfast.

    Thanks you Asha for taking time during your vacation to comment. Have a nice fun time and enjoy the sun and hope to see you soon……

  8. Sumitha Shibu Says:

    Madhu visiting your blog after a long time,so many wonderful recipes u have!

    Welcome Back Sumitha, Saw your pics from the vacation. Its always fun visiting back home. Will be looking forward to your post.

  9. Asha Says:

    Hi Madhu, I am back:) Got lot of unpacking to do.

    Don’t miss my Masala Chai post which is on right now, tomorrow I will post my entry to ‘Jihva’ goodie!

    Have a great week my friend:)

  10. Mythreyee Says:

    this is really a healthy treat. would you like to share your recipe in my newly created blog http://cookforhealth.blogspot.com where I am gathering all nutritious food recipes each week. I want fellow bloggers to share their healthy food recipes. details are in ‘about this blog’ link in the blog. thanks.

  11. Indira Says:

    Nice recipe Madhu. I would love to try this one as I am big fan of oatmeal. I usually have it with maple syrup or honey, never tried with jaggery. Looks easy to make and I am sure it tastes wonderful also. Fantastic entry for Jihva jaggery and thanks for participating.
    Thank you Indira, Sure is a good combination with jaggery and taste is absolutely delicious. Do try it and let me know. Its always a pleasure to take part in Events esspecially Indian ingredients………

  12. RP Says:

    Wow I love oatmeal. This is a new recipe. I have been looking for new recipes with oatmeal. Thanks Madhu,

  13. Sanjana Says:

    Hi
    Very interesting recipe -oats and pudding. is a great idea to make the kids have their oats without any fuss. Thanks for such an innovative recipe.
    Chk here for oats upma – MW method:
    http://www.indusladies.com/forums/13950-post5.html

  14. Lakshmi Says:

    Nice Recipe Madhu. I have tried Oatmeal Upma, it was excellent. I did fry oatmeal till it turned dark brown.

  15. Koths Says:

    Hi,
    Try these savory as well as sweet oatmeal for breakfast..

    Savory:
    3 Tablespoon Instant Oatmeal, Little bit of jeera, shreddes Ginger, Cilantro, Curry leaves, Salt and pour water Cook them in a microwave about 2 minutes.. Then add Table spoon of non at yogurt.. and Eat it

    Sweet..
    3 Tablespoon Instant Oatmeal, 1 spoon of brown sugar, raisin, sprinkle cinnamon powder.. add if you want some seedless dates also.. Pour low fat milk.. cook them in the mircowave for 2 minutes.. and eat it

  16. roopa Says:

    Hey this is looks like ksheere we make for satya narayana pooja at my place:) nice to know that we can make it uasing oatmeal too!

  17. Pradeepkumar Says:

    kindly send me the details regarding availbility of oat products and grain.
    pradeepkumar

  18. Artur Says:

    Thank you a lot for giving everyone such a wonderful possiblity to read from here. It’s always very nice and full of a good time for me personally and my office acquaintances to search the blog at minimum 3 times per week to learn the fresh stuff you will have. And of course, we are actually fulfilled considering the unbelievable knowledge you serve. Selected 2 points in this post are completely the most impressive I have had.

  19. Wladyslaw Says:

    I just couldn’t leave your web site prior to suggesting that I actually enjoyed the standard info a person provide for your visitors? Is gonna be back steadily in order to inspect new posts.

  20. Krystian Says:

    Thanks a lot for the helpful post. It is also my belief that mesothelioma cancer has an incredibly long latency time, which means that signs and symptoms of the disease would possibly not emerge until eventually 30 to 50 years after the first exposure to asbestos fiber. Pleural mesothelioma, which is the most common form and is affecting the area within the lungs, may cause shortness of breath, torso pains, along with a persistent coughing, which may bring about coughing up maintain.


Leave a Reply

