Sevige Baath (Vermicelli Baath)

sevige-baath-5.jpg

Vermicelli is a dry thin wheat noodles used for making kheer, upma. This is my mothers recipe and my favorite veggie and noodle combination.

So here is the recipe 

sevige-baath-1.jpg

Ingredients

Vermicelli  2 cups (dry roasted untill light golden brown colour)

sevige-baath2.jpg

Vegetables like carrot, peas, lima beans, snowpeas, onion, chayote squash, green bell pepper mixed all togehter about 1 cup.

sevige-baath-3.jpg

For Grinding  Cilantro/corriender leaves few, poppy seeds (white) 2 tsp, coconut 2 tsp, Roasted channa dal or dalia  2 tbsp, few chillies and small peice of ginger.

cloves and cinammon few.

Salt to taste.

sevige-baath-4.jpg

 Method

  1. Dry roast the vermicilli untill its light brown colour.
  2. Chop/ cut all the veggies to bit size peices.
  3. Grind above ingredients together using enough water to make a smooth paste.

Heat 2 tsp of oil in a thick bottomed skillet add mustard when its hot.

Then add veggies saute it for few minutes untill little soft.

Next add the griend paste add about 4 cups of water. I used 1:2 ratio (1 cup noodles to 2 cups of water)

Add salt adjust taste, when it come to boil add roasted vermicelli mixe well.

Cover with a lid and simmmer it down on low heat and leave it for 12-15 min. After that mix well, close and leave it like that untill serving.

* It can also be done in pressure cooker, use less water and switch off after one whistel. and cook on medium heat.

Enjoy!

19 Responses to “Sevige Baath (Vermicelli Baath)”

  1. lakshmi Says:

    i haven’t prepared this dish. your’s look so nice.
    nice photographs with explanation.

    Hi Lakshmi,
    It different from the regular umpa……try it once and let me know. I find it easy to explain with picture so its easy to remember…..Thank you for stoping by and coompliments.

  2. supriya Says:

    i make semiya upma regularly… ur rave vade looks sooooooooooo good:)

    Thank you Supriya, rava vada goes very well with sevige,let me know if you give it a try..

  3. Trupti Says:

    Very nice! Perfect to make a day ahead and take for lunch next day!
    Cheers,Trupti

    Oh yes ! it tastes even more better after few hours of making. This was my fav lunch box item. Make it little thin if packing it in a box, it thickens a bit after a while.

  4. Nalini Says:

    First time commenting at your blog. A very nice recipe. I know only the upma variety but this is delicious too
    Welcome Nalini, its very different than upma, do try it and let me know.

  5. Mythreyee Says:

    hmm… yummy…. I like the semiya and sure would love to try this one. thanks for sharing.

    You’ll definitely like this one if you like semiya, don’t forget to let me know when you try it. Thanks for stoping by.

  6. Asha Says:

    Great looking Shavige bhath Madhu, I cook it whenever I have to make a quick lunch:))
    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Try it this way Asha, hope you like it. Happy thanksgiving to you too.

  7. krithika Says:

    This is a great recipe. Very different kind of masala used. Thanks for sharing
    Its different do try it, it will be very good for lunch boxes.

  8. Puspha Says:

    Wonderful.

    Thanks Pushpa.

  9. mandira Says:

    Great recipe… quick lunch or even snack for the weekend! Thanks

    I will be very good for lunch or anytime……Thank you.

  10. shilpa Says:

    I have heard abt it many times. But never tried it. I am going to make this soon. Thanks for sharing

    Let me know how you like it Shilpa.

  11. Bhargavi Says:

    Hi,
    the recipe was ok, but the pressure cooker was a very bad idea. my dinner came out badly burnt – I tried to retrieve the top portion. It’s better to cook in a pan and watch what’s happening.

    Bhargavi

  12. sanjana Says:

    Hey Pushpa
    Vermicili bath looks tempting. My God what varieties with the simple semiya. Chk out this interesting cutlet using vermicili
    http://www.indusladies.com/forums/16486-post141.html

  13. madhavi Says:

    Hi there!
    Before I even started blogging one day I came across this blog through some link and I noted your semiya bath and vegetable sagu recipes,ever since then I have been making them very regularly in my house.But i forgot in which website i saw them.after very long time i got bak again. I thought of thanking you for giving us two new nice breakfast recipes.
    thanks
    madhavi

  14. prii Says:

    Hi,
    Am trying this recipe today.. its very differnt.. hope it comes out well… thank you..

  15. Jai Says:

    Very bad taste, this is not the way to do savgey bath..

  16. Recetas de pasta, vermicelli al requesón | Cocina Says:

    […] ruchii sas_pageid='5601/35298'; // P�gina : addoor/ocionetworks/cocina.org sas_formatid=1881; // […]

  17. Receta aceite oliva, pappardelle al requesón con aceite de oliva | Aceite de Oliva Says:

    […] ruchii sas_pageid='5601/46431'; // P�gina : addoor/ocionetworks/aceiteoliva.com sas_formatid=1881; // […]

  18. Liliana Says:

    Hiya, I’m really glad I have found this information. Today bloggers publish just about gossips and internet and this is actually irritating. A good site with interesting content, that’s} what I need. Thanks for keeping this site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Cant find it.

  19. Eleonora Says:

    I like what you guys are up also. Such intelligent work and reporting! Carry on the superb works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my web site🙂.


Leave a Reply

