Simple Dessert – Rasayana

rasayana.jpg 

Rasayana is commonly made dessert in Mysore region. During festivals its given as ‘prasada’ at temples. At my mom’s house its usually made day after festivals from  all the fruits used as offering for god.

No special occasion at my house, had to finish off the banannas before its fully ripen and after many days I happen to have both jaggery and fresh coconut. So had this yesterday after dinner.

Ingredients

Ripe Bananna    2-3 or as much as you like

Jaggery   few table spoon(grated or powdered)

Coconut   few table spoon

Cardamom seeds chrushed (optional)

Method

Slice bananna into bit size pieces, sprinkle jaggery, coconut and cardamom powder.

Toss/mix gently and eat. Scoop of ice-cream on top tastes even more better. Enjoy!

* In some houses its also called ‘Sakkare balehannu'(sugar bananna) . Substitute sugar(indian kind crystal sugar) with jaggery.

14 Responses to “Simple Dessert – Rasayana”

  1. Latha Says:

    Yummy Rasayana! My kids love it Madhu. Unfortunately I make it only for Pooja days. Should make it more often.

    I just looked up information on Barrow. I am so amazed that you guys live there Madhu. What took you guys there? I am thinking job… I live in Omaha and I complain to my husband about winters and keep telling him that I want to move out. I cannot imagine how you face Barrow. I am truly amazed at how you spend time etc. But I guess we all rise up to the situation no matter. Do write in detail about life in Barrow. How does your kid like life there? What about school etc. Is it like any other US town?
    Do write when you have a chance. OR if you would rather not blog about it then write me an email when you get some time.

    Cheers
    Latha

    Sure will write more about this place, it not like any other town…….Yes, we are here mainly b’coz of job. After having a kid and after started this blog I  am having some fun meeting lots of people and making friends…..but we are not going to stay here for sure……taking one day at a time. Thanks for asking about the place, you are welcome anytime to my house , you’ll get to see how’z life over here…

  2. Latha Says:

    Oh one more thing Madhu. If you ever need any grocery urgently (Indian) then you are welcome to let me know. We get almost everything here (a little more expensive than the bigger places) and I will be glad to mail it to you. After all we are all blog friends now🙂

    Hugs to you
    Latha

    Oh Latha  thank you so much for the offer it really  means a lot to me……will surely let you know. The main reason we buy whereever we go is that shipping costs lot more than the groceries it self.

    Thanks again…..Hugs to you too….

  3. MenuToday Says:

    Hi,
    Simple dessert. Thanks for sharing.

    Thanks MT, simple indeed.

  4. Asha Says:

    Hey Madhu! I know this rasayana! They will give you this as a prasada in some temples as you said up there!! Yummy!! They also add camphor to this which makes it really smell good!! a

    It always tastes yummy when they give you as prasada……Do they really use camphor ? I have never tasted it…….Thanks Asha for new information.

  5. Vani Says:

    Oooh! Nice!! We add a little honey in our rasayana.
    Some temples also give panchaamrutha which has curds and ghee apart from the jaggery, coconut and honey. Yum!!
    Very nice pix too, Madhu! I’ve a long way to go before I can get this quality pix!!

    I like honey too…….its tastes even better with it. Oh panchaamrutham………yum yum..

    Thank you Vani, good light can make the pic better…..

  6. shilpa Says:

    Madhu, we add only sugar and ghee to banana. Tastes great. Your version looks great. I will try soon. Thanks for sharing.

    Try with jaggery Shilpa, next time i’l add some ghee…..my daughter would love that.

  7. prema Says:

    Hi Madhu,
    One of my neighbour used to make this and she used to add dates too in it. she makes this on festive days and i love it. Thanks for the recipe.

    Dates is a nice addition, thanks  Prema. I’ll  add next time when I make them I love dates…….

    Mostly its made during festivals, for offerings or since you have lot of fruits and need to finish it off…..This is the best way to use it.

  8. Archana Says:

    What a lovely name for a dessert. I have almost everything in stock to make this. Thank you for the recipe.

  9. Ashwini Says:

    Hi madhu,
    Nice recipe…i made this for gokulashtami n added li’l honey…it tasted great…
    and i saw few websites abt barrow…have u seen polar bears?
    i read so many things abt barrow..like migratory birds during summer….eskimos living there…n whale hunting etc..
    i wud be gr8 if u write a li’l abt that place…srry if i m bugging u

    cheers,
    ashwini

  10. Balaji Says:

    Hi.

    Am a student who’s just landed here, and have just started cooking. Trouble is, I have to eat them myself. Was glad to see recipes for rasaayanas and ragi muddes here – some of my faves. Should start feasting sometime soon.

    Keep the recipes coming!🙂

  11. Indira Says:

    Seattle is the gateway to Alaska, so we are practically neighbours.🙂

    Banana prasadam looks great, Madhu!

  12. YACC (yet another culinary comment) Says:

    One of my friend’s mother used to do something similar. To a similar recipe she mashed a few pieces of banana and added cold milk (and probably some more sugar/gur to sweeten the milk).

  13. Sandra Says:

    I am not really wonderful with English but I get hold this really easy to translate.

  14. Pożyczka_pod_zastaw_samochodu Says:

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It if truth be told was once a enjoyment account it. Look complex to more brought agreeable from you! By the way, how can we keep up a correspondence?


Leave a Reply

