Dal – Vegetable Curry

 veg-d.jpg

By the end of the week i’ll be having too little of all the veggies in my fridge. Where I can’t use any single vegetable to make any dish. So Dal-vegetable curry is the one dish I make at least  once a week. This is one way to finish off all the veggies and go shopping for fresh vegetables.

I usually add split moong dal with veggies, reason being its cooks faster and my toddler can digest well. Once in a while I use Channa dal for this dish. Dal- veggi curry with wheat-flour Chapathi is nutritious and complete satisfying meal.

So here is the recipe.

  • Veggies I used are carrot, capsicum/green bell pepper,zucchini, green beans, tomato, onion,peas and potato(All together it was about 2 cups of veggies).
  • I used 1 cup of split moong dal with this veggies.

veg.jpg

Spices I used

Red chilli powder  1tsp

Curry powder      1tsp

Turmeric            1/2 tsp

Tamarind           1/2 tsp

Jaggery             1tsp.

* Can add garam masal instead of curry powder. I usually add jaggery where ever I use Tamarind it balances the tangyness .

 spi.jpg

Also need 2 tsp of oil and mustard seed for seasoning.

Method:

  • Heat oil on medium heat, when hot add mustard seed .
  • Once mustard starts to pop add all the veggies. Wash moongdal in water and add this to veggies.
  • Add little salt mix well cover and cook untill veggies are half done.
  • Now add all the spices mix well add enough water to get medium consistancy.
  • Cover and cook for another 10min or untill veggies and dal is cooked .
  • Adjust salt per taste.

 cha-veg.jpg

Now its ready enjoy ! Have a nice weekend Everyone…

22 Responses to “Dal – Vegetable Curry”

  1. vineela Says:

    Hi madhu,
    Healthy recipe.We do make pesalapappu with veggies but all in one dal is good for health.
    Thanks for sharing dear.PHOTOS are beautiful.
    Vineela

  2. menutoday Says:

    Hi Ruchi,
    Healthy and simple recipe.
    I too make this dish once a week.
    Clear pictures, thanks for sharing.

  3. krithika Says:

    Nutritious and delicious. I bet it tastes great with rotis. Thanks for sharing

  4. sudha vinodh Says:

    A real simple recipe madhu..gonna try this soon..Thanks for sharing..

  5. Deepa Says:

    Nice and healthy recipe, I used to make this a lot at one point of time.

  6. sudha Says:

    Nice and helathy way to get rid of all vegetables. Never try this before. Thankyou

  7. prema Says:

    Hi Madhu,
    A very nutritious recipe. I have never tried moondal with vegetables before. BTW the pics in ur blog are wonderful. thanks for sharing a good healthy recipe

  8. Puspha Says:

    Very colourful!!

  9. Asha Says:

    When I looked at the picture ,at first I thought it’s Bisibele Bhath ,got excited.. Then I saw the Chapati …. I must try this recipe, photo itself looks good enough to eat !!

  10. Swapna Says:

    Hi Madhu,

    I happened to see your blog accidentally and i really love it, am from Bangalore though originally from Kerala.

    I love Karnataka food. All your recipes look yum and the photos are very tempting……

    I would appreciate if u can post authentic recipe for the bisibele bath powder, I know you need a special spice called marathi moggu.

    Keep posting more recipes.

    Swapna

  11. Swapna Says:

    Hi Madhu,

    What do you mean by curry powder that you use in your recipes?

    Swapna

    Hi Swapna,

           Welcome to my blog. Sure will post besebele bath and powder some day. And about the curry powder, I have used sambar powder. You can also use the  curry powder  you get in Indian stores. Thanks.

  12. Aruna Says:

    Hi Madhu,

    IThe picture was so appealing that I had to try it out & I totally loved it. Looking forward for more authentic Kannada recipes from you.

    Thanks,
    Aruna

  13. Vidya Says:

    Nice pics! You have’nt mentioned the usage of tamarind in the recipe

  14. Surge Protectors : Says:

    so many healthy recipes to choose from on the internet:,”

  15. Wall Hooks Says:

    when i cook at home, i always make sure that i only cook healthy recipes because i don’t want to get fat *.”

  16. gangotri Says:

    this preparation is a very popular Odia Dish. it will be more healthy if you use papaya n taro in it try with toor dal….:)

  17. sue gamaliel Says:

    Can you use lemon juice instead or do without no sourness?

  18. Justyna Says:

    I wanted to compose you a very small observation just to say thanks as before on your nice ideas you have provided on this website. It was quite open-handed with people like you to present freely just what most people would have supplied as an e book to generate some dough for themselves, principally given that you could possibly have done it in case you wanted. The guidelines as well worked as a easy way to understand that some people have the same eagerness just like my very own to figure out a whole lot more with respect to this issue. I am sure there are a lot more pleasurable occasions up front for those who scan through your blog post.

  19. Cyprian Says:

    The next time I learn a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I imply, I do know it was my choice to learn, however I truly thought youd have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you would repair for those who werent too busy in search of attention.

    • Gangotri pratik biswas Says:

      Cyprian I learn you hv disappointed….plz don’t .:)…i have gone through this experience….i chose to be inattentive to these things….Add smile to life….

  20. super bez bik Says:

    I like this web site because so much utile stuff on here.

  21. Pożyczka_pod_zastaw_samochodu_Wrocław Says:

    I’ll right away grasp your rss as I can’t in finding your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please let me know so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

