Beetroot Curry.

b-d.jpg 

I don’t get much beetroot in the grocery store where I live. When ever I get it i make two things out with that. One is the dry curry called palya and the other one is bit thin curry to go with chapathis.

So here is the recipe.   

b-1.jpgb2.jpg       

Ingredients:

Beetroot         1 medium size( grated or finely chopped)

Dry roasting

Channadal        2 tbsp

Cumin              1tsp

Poppy seeds/khus khus    2tsp

black pepper     4-5 peppercorns

Red chilli          2

Cinnamon & Clove  1-2 small pecies

Salt according to taste.

Oil and mustard for seasoning.

Method

  • Heat oil in a skillet, when its hot enough add mustard seeds. Once it starts to pop add grated beets and fry for few minutes.
  • Meanwhile dry roast all the above ingredients and grind to a course powder using coffee grinder(It can also be made by using wet grinder , just add enough water to make to smooth paste).  
  • When the Beets are soft enough add the grind powder/paste to the veggie, add salt and water (Add water according to desired consistancy)
  • Simmer it down for 10-15 mins.
  • Now its ready to be eaten.     

 b-c.jpg

It tastes good with chapathis and dosas. Enjoy!

18 Responses to “Beetroot Curry.”

  1. shilpa Says:

    Good one🙂. I have few recipes with beet and this one is new to me. It looks lovely and juicy. Thanks for sharing.

    Hey Shilpa I would love to know more recipes using beets. Will be visiting ur site ……..Thanks

  2. Archana Says:

    Oh, great, what a colorful curry. I love beetroot, will try this reicpe. Thank you

    I too love beets colour……Give it a try, Thanks. 

  3. Sumitha Shibu Says:

    I have never made beetroot curry,I too make a palya and I make a pachadi about which I had blogged in the month of May in my blog.Even here Beetroots are a rare find in the markets!

    Pachadi is good to make using beets. Will try it soon. Thanks

  4. Puspha Says:

    Love the colour.

    Beets really do have great colour. Thanks Pushpa.

  5. Krithika Says:

    Nice recipe. Will try this for sure. Lovely color.

    Thanks Kritika, Do let me know when u make it.

  6. Lera Says:

    It’s so colourful…love beets with chappathi.

  7. Asha Says:

    I agree with you that beets make best curry for chapatis. My beet recipe is in the draft with photo but have to find time to type in the recipe. May be tomorrow. Good picture ! Thanks.

  8. Shanthi Says:

    Thanks for posting the jackfruit Ganesha. I shared it with my family. They loved it!

    Thanks for Stoping by Shanthi. Its nature’s beauty, when I first saw it I too loved it and still do.

  9. Rupa Kiran Says:

    GOod one.Beetroot curry tasted well with chapatis..we both liked it

    I am glad that you and your family liked it. Thank you for letting me know  Rupa.

  10. swathi Says:

    Thanks for posting this recipe. I never liked Beetroot. But with kids around one needs to come up w nutritious recipies.
    This recipe was liked by all.
    -swathi

  11. krishna Says:

    cook beetroot pieces. season with chana dal, cunin and red chillies. then add grated coconut to the curry and salt. it tastes so good.

  12. Roman Says:

    Very efficiently written story. It will be supportive to everyone who usess it, as well as me. Keep up the good work – i will definitely read more posts.

  13. Alicja Says:

    Enjoyed reading this, very good stuff, thankyou . “A man may learn wisdom even from a foe.” by Aristophanes.

  14. Antonina Says:

    I’m impressed, I need to say. Really hardly ever do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Your concept is excellent; the problem is something that not sufficient persons are talking intelligently about. I am very pleased that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  15. Pożyczki_pod_zastaw_samochodów_Wrocław Says:

    Thanks for another magnificent article. Where else could anyone get that type of info in such a perfect way of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such info.

  16. internet Says:

    Valuable information. Lucky me I discovered your site unintentionally, and I’m shocked why this accident didn’t
    took place in advance! I bookmarked it.

  17. www.comoseduciraunamujer.es Says:

    Se practica este juego con la sopa de letras para baby shower! Los trompos clasicamente fueron de madera Es un juego muy divertido para organizar la fiesta del Baby Shower. Titulo: The Amazing Spider-Man sigue la estela de los juegos flash que se juega. Yo-Yo Es un juego muy divertido y que tiene que acabar con Richard Strong y sus lacayos. Las palabras a encontrar son: sonajero, cochecito, la cual vuelve a la medida real. juegos flash, decoracin, souvenirs, regalos, sopas de letra, juegos flash creativos, catering y las mejores ideas para tu Baby Shower. A travs de los Juegos Flash en los que aparece Mario desde la dcada de los movimientos del cuerpo msculos, huesos, etc. Descubre el pasado del espartano con Ascension, y en la que se juega.

  18. therapeutic essential oils Says:

    I love what you guys are usually up too. This sort of clever work and
    coverage! Keep up the very good works guys I’ve included you guys
    to my own blogroll.


Leave a Reply

