Nipittu

ni.jpg

Being health conscious these days I don’t make much deep fried foods. But once in a while we have to have some fried snacks to satisfy our carvings. So when Santhi  announced Ingredient for this months JFI #4 as Flour. I was very excited to make Nipittu a karnataka speciality and one of my favorite deep fried snack.

This is my first attempt making Nipittu. My mother used to make this during rainy evenings. As soon as coming back from school, we used to change our uniforms quickly and getting all ready to snack. I remember eating nipittu sitting next to the window and watching those rain drops fall….. Ah! those were the days…………

So here is what we need.

ni-1.jpg

Rice Flour                  1cup

Maida/all purpose flour  1/2 cup

Besan/chickpea flour     1/4 cup

Peanut/ground nut        about 1/4 cup

Chilli powder               1 tsp

Curry leaves                2 tsp

Salt                         as per taste.

Along with peanuts dalia dal/roasted channadal can also be added.

Oil  for deep frying.

* Using this measurement we can make 20 small sized nipittu.

Method.

ni-2.jpg

  • In a bowl sieve together all the flour.
  • Mix everything together to a stiff dough by adding  water slowly.
  • Take a marble size balls and with finger pat it on a piece of plastic sheet/parchment paper/wax paper to a circular shape. (If the dough is sticking to hand, apply little oil to the fingers and pat.)
  • Meanwhile heat peanut oil on medium high heat.
  • Fry 2-3 at a time, till golden brown on both sides. Drain excess oil on paper towel.

ni-d.jpg

Now Nipittu is ready to be eaten. Enjoy !

* Once completely cooled store in air tight container. Stays fresh for about a week.

My entry to JFI #4 – FLOUR Hosted by Santhi of Santhi’s Kitchen.

27 Responses to “Nipittu”

  1. santhi Says:

    Totally delicious Madhu..
    My mom makes this and I LOVE it…

    I am so glad U could participate in JFI. Thank you.

    Its my pleasure Santhi. Will be waiting for round up.

  2. Sumitha Shibu Says:

    OMG! I just love Nippatu,I have to try this.Madhu for sure.I have 2 doubts, can we add even chopped onion to the dough and secondly should we roast the rice flour before using Madhu?

    No need to roast rice flour and add onion, adding onion will make it little soggy. Do add peanut or dalia dal and curry leaves. This gives the authentic nipiitu taste. Hope this helps. Thanks.

  3. Krithika Says:

    These look so good. It is very similar to Thattai that we make. Thanks for sharing this recipe

    I know there are so many similar dishes but different names to it. Thanks for letting me know the other name.

  4. Tanuja Says:

    Hi Madhu,

    Neema Nippatu bhala yummy yagide,Thanks for sharing this dish , we call it chekalu in Telugu.

    Oh thanks Tanuja. There are many different names to it that I didn’t know before. Thanks for letting me know.

  5. Deepa Says:

    Wow! nange bayalli neeroortha ide, yummy!

    Thanks Deepa.

  6. sree Says:

    wow nodakke istu yumy agide..hmm kanditha madthene:)thanks madhu

    Sree thanks for stoping by. Let me know if u give it a try.

  7. Ashwini Says:

    These look great….like savoury hard puris

    Its like a hard puri with peanuts. Thanks

  8. Puspha Says:

    Very interesting. Thanx for sharing.

    Thanks Pushpa.

  9. Priya Says:

    We make thattai’s in a similar way except that we dont add maida. Beautiful pictures Ruchi !

    Through my fellow bloggers comments I came to know different names for Nippitu. Next time i’ll try with our maida, it will be more crunchy I think. Thanks Priya.

  10. menutoday Says:

    Hi Ruchi,
    Yummy ” Nipittu”, beautiful pictures, thanx for sharing.

    Thanks Menutoday.

  11. vineela Says:

    Hi Madhu,
    We will call it as “PAPPU CHEKKALU’ OR “pappu billallu” or nippatlu .”Nippattu “i love these snacks and i liked more coz peanuts are popping up. I will add some times chana dal(soaked). I prepared 2mnths back and when ever i like to bite some crunchy one easy to open a jar.like your photos .Good work .
    Thanks for sharing.
    Vineela

    Thanks Vineela for letting me know differnt names……Along with peanuts we also add dalia dal they give crunchy and fab taste.

  12. Asha Says:

    Looks like I am prowling in your blog tonight, even got to read comments in Kannada !! Excellent !! Nippattu is my Fav.Blog on lady, I will baaack !!!

    Thanks for your lovely comment Asha. You are welcome on my blog anytime.  Nippittu is my fav snack too.

  13. V GOPALAKRISHNAN Says:

    fine Is it necessary to add maida instead can I add pottukadala flour

    Thanks for stoping by Gopalkrishanan. You can completely omit maida flour. Just add rice and besan flour.

  14. Shanthi Says:

    great site and great things. Thanks for sharing.

  15. Mrs BVS Says:

    HEY THANKS I HAVE LOOKING FOR THIS RECIPE ALL OVER THE NET AND AT LAST I FOUND IT

  16. roselin Says:

    thanxs for the recipe…i did try it..and it turned out wonderful

  17. ANUPAMA Says:

    hi Madhu,

    ur recipe tastes good i tried ur recipe on the day of ugadhi festival really it tasted very good.thanks for ur easy recipe

  18. Rakhee Says:

    Can I substitute peanut with anything else ………
    My kid is alergic to peanuts
    Hi Rakhee,
    You can leave out peanut or any nuts and add dalia (roasted channa dal). It will be good too. Do let me know how you like it. Thanks.

  19. Shree Says:

    Hi Madhu..
    Great recipe.. nipittu masala is my brother’s fav snack.. I used to buy nipittu for that from the store.. now will try this one at home🙂
    Hey shree, let me know if you try it.

  20. strawberrywithlove Says:

    look really nice since it’s raining all day in singapore i’m gonna try this

  21. NEELAM Says:

    Rucchi

    Thanks for the lovely recipe.As you have mentioned we can completely omit maida so the proportion of gram flour & rice flour will change.

  22. Shree Says:

    Thanks for the recipe.. My hubby loves nipittu masala.. I used to buy the nipittu from the hot chips fellows.. Now will try this at home..

  23. Rashmi Says:

    Aahhaaaaa!!!!!!!!! khate hi mazaa aa gaya………………………..
    i luv it…

  24. lisa Says:

    I made this but it turned out too soft..not the hard ones we get. Have any guess where I went wrong?

  25. Olgierd Says:

    Good post. I be taught one thing more challenging on completely different blogs everyday. It would at all times be stimulating to read content from different writers and observe a bit one thing from their store. I’d desire to make use of some with the content on my blog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  26. Wlodzimierz Says:

    I intended to draft you the very little observation to give many thanks over again on your precious things you’ve featured at this time. It has been simply unbelievably open-handed with people like you giving freely just what numerous people could have marketed for an ebook to end up making some money for themselves, and in particular given that you could possibly have done it in the event you desired. The smart ideas as well acted to provide a great way to realize that other individuals have the same keenness really like mine to realize a good deal more when considering this matter. I am certain there are numerous more pleasurable moments ahead for people who discover your site.

  27. Krzysztof Says:

    I’m also commenting to make you be aware of of the superb encounter my friend’s daughter enjoyed viewing your blog. She realized numerous things, not to mention how it is like to have an amazing teaching character to make the rest easily comprehend various problematic topics. You really exceeded readers’ expected results. Many thanks for providing those good, healthy, edifying not to mention easy guidance on that topic to Janet.


Leave a Reply

