Tomato Puri (Puffed rice)

 tpuri.jpg

Puffed rice(puri as we call it) mixed with some veggies and spices, toped on a tomato slice. One can also use cucumbers instead of tomato or both.

I am very fond of chaats like masala puri, panipuri, churumuri , tomato puri just to name a few(my mouth started watering writing about it). Before coming to United States, I never tried  making any chats at home, whenever felt like eating it was just around the corner, I and my friends would go and have it.

I am from very cold part of this country any guess ? Weather is cold or cloudy most of the time. So I feel like eating spicy chats mostly during evenings. Knowing that I can’t go anywhere to get chats, it makes even more tempting to eat it. So now a days I am making chats at home, tomato puri is one of the easiest to make.  So here we go….

What we need.

tomatoslice.jpgtpingredients.jpg

1. Tomatos fully riped. Can make 7-8 slices using one tomato.

2.  Puffed rice(murmura), red onion finely chopped, carrot grated, garlic , ginger and chilli made into fine paste. (all the ingredients can be adjusted according to one’s taste)

3. For garnising home made or store bought sev and few mint/cilantro leaves.

4. Salt and pepper for taste. Tea spoon of oilve oil.

 How to make it

tp-saltpep.jpgmixture.jpg

1. Slice tomato, sprinkle with salt and pepper.(If using cucumbers add lime juice to it)

2. Mix all ingredients except puffed rice with teaspoon of oil, add salt and pepper  adjust the taste. when ready to serve add puffed rice. Mix well

3. Top with sev and garnish with cilantro. Eat right away.

(can also add some tamarind or mint chutney on top).

tp-done.jpg 

Have a slice with hot cup of coffee/tea. Enjoy!

26 Responses to “Tomato Puri (Puffed rice)”

  1. Latha Says:

    Oh my God Madhu! The Tomato Puri looks so delicious. I am reminded of my college days when we would go to eat Tomato slice (Tomato Puri) from a Gaadi in Sadhashivnagar in Bangalore! I miss those times.
    I am going to try this today!
    Thanks for jogging my memory with soem wonderful times.
    Cheers Latha

     Thanks latha…Try it and let me know…..

  2. Manisha Says:

    Hey Madhu, what a great idea! And no guilt after eating, too! Those fried puris can add up! I must try this when my friends from Chicago visit me this coming weekend.

    If you have Dreyer’s ice cream in your freezer then you are most probably west of the Rockies. Are you in Idaho or Montana? Do tell!

    Thanks for stoping by Manisha, u r right guilt free snack. Try it and let me know….

    U guessed half correctly….I am from west way north …..Have u heard of Alaska!!!

  3. sudha vinodh Says:

    nice variation madhu, a behl on tomatoe slice great..nice presentation

    thanks sudha……

  4. Paz Says:

    Oh, wow! Another interesting and delicious-looking dish. Let me know if you want to submit this to FMR, too. 😉

    Paz

  5. Krithika Says:

    Wow ! this is such a nice presentation., Madhu

    Thanks Krithika.

  6. vineela Says:

    Hi Madhu,
    Nice presentation.Best evening snack which i always feel easy to make .Thanks for sharing.
    Vineela

    Thanks Vineela…

  7. Ashwini Says:

    This looks delish. And Alaska? Wow…you must be the only Indian food blogger posting from that state🙂

    Thanks  Ashwini,  Yes alaska far far away ……..Big state with very small amount of people and Indians are very very few…..

  8. Sumitha Shibu Says:

    Reminds me of Bangalore,Tomato puri,tomato sev,yum yum! beautiful pics too!

    Hey r u from Bangalore…….? yes they are yum yum miss them very much…..

  9. Manisha Says:

    I thought of Alaska but thought nah! So yes, you are probably the only Indian food blogger from Alaska! Wow!

    Madhu, it’s difficult to make out your response to comments as it blends in with the comment itself. Consider replying in a comment or styling your comment in another color or in italics to differentiate it from the comment.

    Now tell us more about how you are managing in Alaska. Are there other Indians in your area? Are there Indian grocery stores where you live? Maybe you tell us all this and more about how you are coping in cold Alaska in a post. I’d love to hear more from you! 

    Hey can u differentiate it now…:) Yes i know everytime i reply i forget to change font. Thank you for asking about alaska. Will definitely write more about it. For now i can say that  me, my husband and my daughter are the only indians living in this very small town.

  10. Priya Bhaskaran Says:

    wow, this recipe looks simple and deliciouse:) My guess is also Alaska:)

    Simple indeed, try it. I bet everyone will like it. You are a good guesser…………. will tell more about this place, later in some post.

  11. shilpa Says:

    First time visitor here.
    Very very nice recipe. Thanks for sharing.
    BTW..I am from Karnataka too. Happy to see your blog🙂.

    Welcome Shilpa, nice to meet one more kannadiga.

  12. sudha Says:

    WOW.. you are from Alaska?? It might be very cold there. No wonder you like to have hot cup of coffee/tea. Tomato puff looks great.

    Hi Sudha,

    I like the word tomato puff……Thanks for stoping by.

  13. Neelu Says:

    YU mYUm Yum
    what r u making, I love this !!!!

  14. Nav Says:

    Mee too, first time visitor here. I am a big fan of bhel made in this way and your blog got me craving for some of this .. aww! You have a great blog going here. Please keep your posts coming!

  15. Vaishali Says:

    This is a great Chaat dish, Madhu. I have been to Bangalore many times in the last five and a half years (my parents-in-law live there), but I have never come across this dish. Maybe I should look in the right place next time.🙂

    Hmm………never came across tomato puri in b’lore. Well you can try it for yourself.  Next time when u visit, look for ‘churumuri gaadi’s’ they will make tomato puri also. Thanks vaishali.

  16. aparna Says:

    Would you know how to make the masala puri we get in bangalore ?

    Hey Aparna thank u for stoping by. I do know how to make, will be posting it soon.

  17. gayathri Says:

    Hi Madhu,
    I would really appreciate it if you could post the recipe for ‘masala puri’ chaat, the authentic one that you get in the streets of bangalore, where they use a thick liquid based ingredient.
    Thanks

    Thanks you for stoping by Gayathri. I will soon post my version of masala puri. I know what u are talking about.

  18. Sangeeta Says:

    Hey..Nice presentation and a good variation to regular bhel-puri. for a tea-time snack …🙂

  19. roopa Says:

    wow ur snacks are looking so tasty and most of them are quiet calori-less ones also🙂 nice blog! I liked this tomato puri, made me remember the days when we went to tirupathi, and the vendor on the roadside had a similar snack:)

  20. Sailaja Prakash Says:

    Hi Madhu,

    Even I love chaats. Ofcourse, who don’t. I am craving so much for chaats and waiting to go to India to have all that spicy stuff. Anyway, next month we are going. Actually, I thought learning all these chaats from my nearest street side chaats stall man. So that, I can make after coming back from India.

    Luckily before going to India itself I found your recipe and I tried and it is really fantastic. But we like it when lime juice is added to it.

    Thank You So Much for the Recipe.

  21. Tempting! Links to Delish Dishes and Handy Hints. « A Life (Time) of Cooking Says:

    […] Delights has a fabulous Tomato and Barley Salad. Try also, some Tomato Puri, a wonderful Indian salad snack. From Ruchii. Or Tomato Masala, from Taste of Mysore. Kalyn’s […]

  22. Shailaja Says:

    Thanks a lot Madhu for sharing this recipe. Do you know how to make Moong dal dry chat if so can you please share it? Now a days there are lot of dry chat places in our beautiful Bangalore where they make yummy Nippattu chat, pineapple bhel etc…:)

  23. Konrad Says:

    Thank you for your website post. Manley and I are actually saving for just a new book on this subject matter and your writing has made people like us to save the money. Your ideas really solved all our inquiries. In fact, over what we had thought of before we stumbled on your wonderful blog. My partner and i no longer nurture doubts along with a troubled mind because you have clearly attended to each of our needs in this post. Thanks

  24. Maja Says:

    The next time I learn a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my option to learn, but I truly thought youd have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you possibly can repair in the event you werent too busy on the lookout for attention.

  25. Kalina Says:

    Thanks a lot for giving everyone remarkably splendid opportunity to check tips from this website. It can be very enjoyable and as well , jam-packed with a lot of fun for me and my office mates to search the blog minimum three times weekly to read through the latest stuff you have got. And indeed, I am just usually contented for the wonderful tips you give. Certain 4 facts in this post are truly the finest I’ve had.


Leave a Reply

