Chayote Squash

chayote-squash.jpg

In kannada this squash is called ‘seeme badanekaye’. I would love to know what other names you all know.

Will be posting a curry dish made with this squash. See u.

16 Responses to “Chayote Squash”

  1. Krithika Says:

    You have a great blog. We call it 'Chow Chow'(in Delhi) and 'Bangalore Kathrikkai' in Tamil

    Thanks krithika I am just starting. Thanks for letting me know the names.

  2. Sumitha Shibu Says:

    Hi ,are you a Bangalorean? I am a Bangalorean too.In malayalam we call it Sheema Kathrika.

    Hi sumitha,

    I am a Mysorean very close to bangalore. Thanks for the malayalam name.

  3. Latha Says:

    Hi Madhu,

    Nice blog going. Chayote Squash is called–

    Seeme Bandnekaayi – Kannada (as u have mentioned)
    SeemaVankaya – Telugu
    Bengluru Katrikaa – Tamil
    Sheema Katrikaa – Malayalam
    and
    Chowchow Subzi in hindi
    Whew -so many names for a squash vegetable :-)
    Love your recipe. Will try it as soon as I get a hold of Chayote Squash.
    Happy Bloggin!
    Cheers
    Latha

  4. kittee Says:

    Hi!
    I live in new orleans, louisiana, usa and we call the chayote a mirleton (pronounced mell uh tun). We were in Jamaica recently and they call it a cho cho.

    Here's a traditional way to make it down here..
    http://www.pakupaku.info/stuffedmirlitons.shtml

    Thanks for the recipes!
    kittee

    Hey

      Thanks for sharing Kittee.

  5. Vaishali Says:

    Madhu,
    I saw this vegetable for the first time about a month back at the SriLankan store here in Düsseldorf. I asked the shop owner what it was called and how it was cooked. He knew the name only in SriLankan Tamil and told me that the veggie was prepared like any other veggie. Well, that didn’t help me at all. I am so happy to see it on your blog. Haven’t checked out your recipe yet. But I am sure gonna make it, because I like cooking new vegetables.

  6. asha Says:

    Hi Ruchi, my dad a Mysorean calls Chayote as you do ” Seemebadanekayi” and my mom and husband Arvind both who grew up around Sakleshpura coffee plantations call it : get this:)
    “Tale odakina kayi”…LOL…. B’cause it looks like it’s head beaten in!! Isn’t that funny!!!

  7. Asha Says:

    Hi Madhu, my dad a Mysorean calls Chayote as you do ” Seemebadanekayi” and my mom and husband Arvind both who grew up around Sakleshpura coffee plantations call it : get this:)
    “Tale odakina kayi”…LOL…. B’cause it looks like it’s head beaten in!! Isn’t that funny!!!

  8. Swapna Says:

    Hi Madhu,

    Tried this recipe and it tasted very good.

    My recipe is slightly different, there is no mustard and tamarind in the paste, rest is the same. Adding these 2 ingredients made so much difference and it was nice for a change.

    Swapna

  9. Vikram Says:

    Madhu, another great blog from you. Nijvaagalu, nimma blogs-ge naanu ivaaga dhodda addict aagogidheeni. For me, the best bit is seeing you describe the dishes with the Kannada name. Thumba santhosha aaguthe!

  10. PRO-TAMIL Says:

    TAMIL NAMES OF ALL FRUITS AND VEGETABLE
    http://geocities.com/tamildictionary
    CAULIFLOWER – POOKOSU
    CARROT – MANJAL MULLANGI (LITERALLY YELLOW RADISH)
    ZUCCHINI – SEEMAI SURAIKKAAI
    BEETROOT – SENGIZHANGU
    FRENCH BEANS – OOTY AVARAI
    GREEN BEENS – PACHCHAVARAI

  11. viji Says:

    Hi ,

    U r doing a great work!! waiting for your next post..

    viji

  12. Ram Says:

    Hi there,

    Can someone tell me the different types of squashes available in India. The few that I know are

    Tinda
    http://www.evergreenseeds.com/insqti.html

    Chayote Squash
    as mentioned by you folks

    Would be happy to know of more varieties.

    Thanks
    Ram

  13. Salomea Says:

    I got what you intend, thankyou for posting .Woh I am thankful to find this website through google. “It is a very hard undertaking to seek to please everybody.” by Publilius Syrus.

  14. Kredyt_pod_zastaw_samochodu Says:

    Someone necessarily assist to make seriously posts I’d state. That is the first time I frequented your website page and so far? I surprised with the analysis you made to make this particular publish amazing. Great task!

  15. Daniela Says:

    I’m just commenting to let you understand of the excellent experience my wife’s daughter had using your site. She even learned lots of details, including what it’s like to possess an ideal teaching mindset to let the rest with ease comprehend a variety of tortuous things. You really did more than our own expectations. Many thanks for presenting the productive, dependable, explanatory and in addition cool thoughts on this topic to Mary.

  16. Naresh Says:

    Where to find this vegetable in DELHI/NCR?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

